Your Love Awakens Me | Phil Wickham and Chris Quilala

I would like to make you aware of another great worship song that really speaks to what God is doing in the hearts of His sons and daughters today. It’s called, “Your Love Awakens Me,” written by Phil Wickham and Chris Quilala (Jesus Culture).

However, I have to confess that I personally like this version of the song better than the album version. This one is just Phil and Chris on acoustic guitars, outside, in front of a water fountain of all places! I like this version because of its raw energy. No highly polished layering…just hearts expressing their devotion to Jesus.

As I have said in other posts, and in my book, it was the Father’s surprising and outrageous love that rescued me from myself, after letting my former way of relating to Him crash and burn in 2001.

His love awakened me and nothing has been the same ever since.

No more waiting for heaven from earth, but living from heaven on earth. No more hiding in religious fear, trying to measure up to an angry and distant God, but now living in awestruck wonder in the constant embrace of One who is called Love!

Your love is greater! Your love is stronger!
Your love awakens, awakens, awakens me!

To encounter God is to encounter His pure, unadulterated, unconditional, unfathomable affections. And I see more and more of His beloved sons and daughters experiencing this love and waking up out of their orphan slumber.

You called me out of the grave
You called me into the light
You called my name,
and then my heart came alive!

We longer see ourselves as orphans, hoping a distant God will love us and come back for us. No! We’ve left the grave clothes of powerless religion, having been awakened by His love to His life in us, and now we’re learning how to partner with Him in this world.

This particular version is originally from New Song Café on Worshiptogether.com. The original includes an interview with them about the song, which is worth checking out, too. I hope the song blesses you.

Your Love Awakens Me
Written by Phil Wickham, Chris Quilala

There were walls between us
By the Cross You came and
broke them down, You broke them down
There were chains around us
By Your grace we are no longer bound
No longer bound

You called me out of the grave
You called me into the light
You called my name, and then my heart came alive!

Your love is greater! Your love is stronger!
Your love awakens, awakens, awakens me!

Feel the darkness shaking
All the dead are coming
back to life, back to life
Hear the song awaken all creation
singing we’re alive, cause You’re alive!
You called me out of the grave
You called me into the light
You called my name, and then my heart came alive!

And what a love we found!
Death can’t hold us down!
We shout it out, “We’re alive cause You’re alive!’

CCLI Song # 7054720
© Capitol CMG Genesis (Admin. by Capitol CMG Publishing), Jesus Culture Music (Admin. by Capitol CMG Publishing), Phil Wickham Music (Admin. by Music Services, Inc.), Seems Like Music (Admin. by Music Services, Inc.), Sing My Songs (Admin. by Music Services, Inc.)
About Mel Wild

God's favorite (and so are you), a son and a father, happily married to the same beautiful woman for 36 years. We have three incredible adult children. My passion is pursuing the Father's heart in Christ and giving it away to others. My favorite pastime is being iconoclastic and trailblazing the depths of God's grace. I'm also senior pastor of Cornerstone Church in Wisconsin.
This entry was posted in Love, Sonship, Worship and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Your Love Awakens Me | Phil Wickham and Chris Quilala

  1. Quite lovely!

    I’m rather fond of TobyMac’s, “When Love Broke Through.” Similar theme to “your love awakens me,” in the sense that His love really does awaken us! 🙂

  2. dawnlizjones says:

    Our little rural church rocked out on this for the first time this morning. So much fun in worship. I’m hoping Father had as much fun as we did.

    • Mel Wild says:

      That’s what I love about these songs. They are simple yet carry a profound messages. And you don’t need a big band of professional type musicians. Just a few instruments in the hands of hearts on fire. 🙂

Leave a Reply

