Awake My Soul

Father of the mountains, shepherd of the sea.
Author of the questions that are hidden in me.
A voice out on the water. A whisper in the trees.
A longing to believe.
Awake my soul, awake my soul.
Like a river you will flow, like a river you will flow.
I see you in the sunlight. I feel you in the breeze.
I hear you in the silence and the mystery.
So open up my heart. I’m longing to believe.
Teach me to receive.
Awake my soul, awake my soul.
Like a river you will flow, like a river you will flow. *

The words to this song are my morning prayer. They resonate within me, putting language to my desire for the Lover of my soul to reveal the “questions hidden in me.” They lie just beyond my knowing, waiting just for me. They are hidden but not forgotten, for they haunt my soul deeply in the dark of night, yet I am not forsaken.

I can hear His voice…calling out…reaching in….bringing peace once again.

I hear Him in this silence as I live in the mystery. I long for Him to remove the veil over my heart that keeps me from fully knowing as I am known…that keeps me in this disquieted slumber.

I sleep, but my heart is awake;
It is the voice of my beloved!
He knocks, saying,
“Open for me, my sister, my love,
My dove, my perfect one;
For my head is covered with dew,
My locks with the drops of the night.” (Songs 5:2 NKJV)

My soul thirsts for the River of God to flow out from within me. So, once again, I swing wide the floodgates of my fickle heart to the One who’s ever with me and always for me.

“Awake my soul, awake my soul.
Like a river you will flow, like a river you will flow.”

Yes, this is my morning prayer.

* Awake My Soul
From “Looking For a Savior” EP by United Pursuit
Written by Will Reagan, Brock Human, Garett Sale
©2015 United Pursuit Music (ASCAP) and Capitol CMG Genesis (ASCAP)
About Mel Wild

God's favorite (and so are you), a son and a father, happily married to the same beautiful woman for 36 years. We have three incredible adult children. My passion is pursuing the Father's heart in Christ and giving it away to others. My favorite pastime is being iconoclastic and trailblazing the depths of God's grace. I'm also senior pastor of Cornerstone Church in Wisconsin.
This entry was posted in Worship and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Awake My Soul

  1. Cindy Powell says:

    This is so beautiful, Mel–it is my prayer too. I had never heard this song but love it! Blessings to you 🙂

    • Mel Wild says:

      I love it when people write songs that express the deepest prayers of our heart! This song has been a prayer theme song of mine lately, which is why I shared it. Be blessed! 🙂

  2. Such a simple song yet with a remarkable message.

Leave a Reply

