You Came | Jonathan and Melissa Helser

Here’s yet another song by Jonathan & Melissa Helser that’s become one of my favorites! This one is titled, “You Came (Lazarus).” This is from their Beautiful Surrender Album.

This is an “Easter” anthem for those awoken out of a religious slumber. God has freed our imprisoned hearts from the grave of our own fears and misguided thoughts, raising us up again in His unfathomable love! 

For me, it was about 16 years ago when a loving God walked into my darkest dungeon and called my name. Just when I thought I was at the end of my rope and would surely stay buried in my anger, regret and self-condemnation, He came! I thought I was dead; He said I was only sleeping…

You said death’s only sleeping
With one word my heart was beating
I rose up from my grave
My fear was turned to faith

And now this chorus is my testimony of endless gratitude and deepest devotion:

You came, I knew that You would come
You sang, my heart it woke up
I’m not afraid, I see Your face, I am alive
You came, I knew that You would come

There is a “Lazarus” in all of us that hopes to awaken from what has held us back and come fully alive to all that God has waiting for us. Beloved, if you feel “buried” right now, know that your day is coming, too. Hope in God. He is faithful!

You Came (Lazarus)
Written by Melissa Helser, Jonathan David Helser, Ed Cash
© 2016 Bethel Music Publishing (ASCAP) / Alletrop Music (BMI) (admin. by Music Services). All Rights Reserved.
About Mel Wild

God's favorite (and so are you), a son and a father, happily married to the same beautiful woman for 36 years. We have three incredible adult children. My passion is pursuing the Father's heart in Christ and giving it away to others. My favorite pastime is being iconoclastic and trailblazing the depths of God's grace. I'm also senior pastor of Cornerstone Church in Wisconsin.
This entry was posted in Freedom, Worship and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to You Came | Jonathan and Melissa Helser

  1. Cindy Powell says:

    One of my favorites too ❤️

Leave a Reply

