What are you waiting for?

wait_to_be_calledWaiting is not a high value in our busy, fast-paced Western culture. It’s usually considered a waste of time. Ironically, the more fast-paced our environment, the more we wait (I waited a LOT when I lived in Chicago!) We don’t like empty spaces in our life. At least now we have smart phones to keep that from happening!

I never liked waiting. I prefer to use the self-check-out aisle in stores and I’m incensed whenever I have to wait in line there. I mean, why can’t these people shop at another time!

640px-401_gridlockIt’s amazing how I can become transformed into “another man” when I get behind the wheel of my car. But it’s not my fault! I’m continually victimized by drivers who aren’t behaving like I think they should…and who I know for a fact are purposely trying to make me late for wherever I need to go!

Why are all these people against me?

Okay, I digress. My point in all of this is that we don’t like to wait on the Lord either. It’s not a high value component of our life in Christ. We like to think it is…we talk about it like I am now, we sing about it…but we usually don’t like it in reality. After all, who wants stay stuck in uncertainty and mystery? Doesn’t God know this about us?

My question is simply one that God asks me whenever I find myself in this quandary:

“What are you waiting for?”

I shared the song, “Take Courage” and talked about waiting in my post, “He’s in the waiting.” I would like to launch out from there and share a few things I’ve learned on those times when God didn’t seem the least bit interested in answering my prayer (or so it seemed).

First, a message from our sponsor:

“Wait on the Lord;
Be of good courage,
And He shall strengthen your heart;
Wait, I say, on the Lord!” (Psalm 27:14 NKJV)

waiting_shorelineTo answer, “what am I waiting for,” I’ve learned to stop what I’m doing and consider these three questions:

First, what is God wanting me to discover while I’m in this holding pattern? God seems to like to begin every breakthrough with a season of holy frustration and discontentment. Why? Because breakthrough, by its very nature, is about discovery, and discovery is about realizing something you had no mental grid for before.

And you won’t look for something you don’t know you’re missing.

Second, what needs to be strengthened in me before my “triumph unfolds?” God knows we’re going to need new strength for our upgrade. For instance, David needed to learn something about finding his strength in God at Ziklag before he became king of Israel (see 1 Sam 30:1-19).

Think about this for a moment. What would’ve happened if David hadn’t “strengthened himself in the Lord” (1 Sam.30:6) when everything seemed to be going in the opposite direction of his prophetic destiny?

Third, am I waiting for the same thing that God is waiting for? For too many years it never dawned on me that God might actually be waiting for something! When I discover what He’s been waiting for, I usually begin to feel forward momentum again. What I’ve found is that this period of waiting is the place where my heart gets recalibrated and locked in on His heart.

walking_fogBeloved, when we can’t see what’s in front of us, it’s time to look to the One who’s inside of us. As the saying goes, God doesn’t hide from us, He hides for us. And He will never design a life for us that doesn’t require faith.

“It is God who works in you both to will and to do for His good pleasure” (Phil.2:13). But do we believe it’s for our good pleasure?  We usually do find that this is true…that is, after the season is over.  This is why faith always comes before experience.

Why can’t God just give us the answer so we can move on with our life? I’ve come to understand that He would rather move us on into deeper relationship with Him. And, the trouble is, relationship takes time. It takes vulnerability and cooperation. And we usually don’t make time unless we have no other choice.

But we will always make time for what we treasure, so I suppose God’s dealing with our treasure. Waiting on the Lord helps us to find the true treasure hidden for us!

“Again, the kingdom of heaven is like treasure hidden in a field, which a man found and hid; and for joy over it he goes and sells all that he has and buys that field. (Matt.13:44 NKJV)

One last point: When God wants to do something in us, it isn’t just for us. This is what David learned in his waiting:

1-3 I waited and waited and waited for God.
    At last he looked; finally he listened.
He lifted me out of the ditch,
    pulled me from deep mud.
He stood me up on a solid rock
    to make sure I wouldn’t slip.
He taught me how to sing the latest God-song,
    a praise-song to our God.
More and more people are seeing this:
    they enter the mystery,
    abandoning themselves to God. (Psalm 40:1-3 MSG)

Crowds-streetBecause David faithfully waited on God, not only did God give him a new song (personal upgrade), but also now “More and more people are seeing this: they enter the mystery, abandoning themselves to God.”

While we have to be taught to wait,  God is perfectly willing to help us learn just that.

After all, He’s got all the time in the world!

About Mel Wild

God's favorite (and so are you), a son and a father, happily married to the same beautiful woman for 37 years. We have three incredible adult children. My passion is pursuing the Father's heart in Christ and giving it away to others. My favorite pastime is being iconoclastic and trailblazing the depths of God's grace. I'm also senior pastor of Cornerstone Church in Wisconsin.
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to What are you waiting for?

  1. Ah, so well said! I use to have a lot of trouble with waiting, but God showed me something similar, what are you waiting for? Why? Today everything is an opportunity for ministry, prayer, or praise. There’s always someone standing in line that needs some encouragment, traffic is an opportunity to blast some praise music and worship, and waiting rooms are a great place to pray. These aren’t virtuous things for the sake of goodness, they are ways to keep yourself from going stark raving mad and being utterly miserable. I remember when it first started to click, I spent about an hour stuck in traffic and suddenly realized it was the most awesome thing that had happened all week. I actually had time for music, time for prayer, all these things I never had time for before because I was always waiting in line.

    • Mel Wild says:

      Amen. I once read a whole book waiting in a plane on the tarmac at O’Hare airport. I kid you not! Yes, like you, I finally figured out that it’s definitely not wasted time. Thanks for your comments, IB. Blessings.

  2. Excellent post and thoughts, my friend. You bless me. You got me to thinkin’ about how I process waitin’. This post helped me realize I have some work to do on my attitude and thoughts when I’m waitin’. Thanks and God bless.

  3. Cindy Powell says:

    “When we can’t see what’s in front of us, it’s time to look to the One who’s inside of us.” Love this – yes and amen! One of the things the Lord has shown me as I’ve been chewing on the truths the song “Take Courage” – is that when we discover “He’s in the waiting” it means He has literally hidden treasures of Himself for us to discover in the waiting. Finding those treasures makes waiting almost pleasurable (almost 😉).

    • Mel Wild says:

      Amen. That’s exactly it! He has hidden wonders for us that we aren’t even asking for! We can’t imagine them! Like a caterpillar in the chrysalis, something is always happening, We must know that when we’re being “processed.” And know that He has transformation waiting for us on the other end!

  4. This is so good Mel, and really hit close to my heart (and not just because I sit in traffic for at least 3 hours a day!) 🙂 Just last night I was thinking about un-answered prayers in my life and trusting God in the waiting season and I came to the realization that maybe it’s not me that’s waiting on God, maybe He’s waiting on me too. To trust Him, to draw closer to Him, and to remain obedient to what He calls me to do regardless of if He ever chooses to answer me or not. In the end, it doesn’t matter if we get what we are waiting for if we have Him. Thank you for sharing this!

Leave a Reply

