I will build my life upon Your love (Housefires)

Today is my birthday. I was introduced to this planet 61 years ago (on a Sunday). And like everybody else, spent the rest of my time trying to figure out why I’m here.

After about 45 years of wandering and trying everything else, including 20-something years of trying to be a “good Christian,” I finally found Love.

I wrote about this journey in my book, Sonshift and, more briefly, in a post here.

Now, my life quest is to learn how to love well.

And it’s not that I’ve arrived at my destination, by any means, but now I know my ship has set sail….I can feel the wind at my back…

I’ve learned the secret to loving well comes from being loved by Love (1 John 4:7-19).

So, for my birthday, I’ve posted a song we’ve been singing at our church. It’s called “Build My Life” from the Housefires III album. Little did they know that they wrote my life’s theme song when they wrote this! Of course, that’s probably because it’s theirs, too. This song expresses my heart, my one goal, and one desire…to build my life upon God’s love. I hope the song blesses you like it does me.

Oceans of love,
Mel

Build My Life
Written by: Pat Barrett, Kirby Kaple, Matt Redman, Brett Younker and Karl Martin

Worthy of every song we could ever sing.
Worthy of all the praise we could ever bring.
Worthy of every breath we could ever breathe.
We live for you.

Jesus the name above every other name.
Jesus the only one who could ever save.
Worthy of every breath we could ever breathe.
We live for you.
Oh we live for you.

Holy there is no one like you
There is none beside you
Open up my eyes in wonder
And show me who you are and fill me with your heart
And lead me in love to those around me.

Bridge
And I will build my life upon your love
It is a firm foundation.
And I will put my trust in you alone
And I will not retake it.

CCLI #7070345

About Mel Wild

God's favorite (and so are you), a son and a father, happily married to the same beautiful woman for 36 years. We have three incredible adult children. My passion is pursuing the Father's heart in Christ and giving it away to others. My favorite pastime is being iconoclastic and trailblazing the depths of God's grace. I'm also senior pastor of Cornerstone Church in Wisconsin.
This entry was posted in Love, Worship and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to I will build my life upon Your love (Housefires)

  1. Ah,congratulations and Happy Birthday! 🙂

  2. AfroScot says:

    Dear Mel

    Wishing you many more productive years ahead. May your latter years be greater than your former years in all aspects of your life.

    Thank you for sharing the love of the Father with us and sparing us many years of wandering. Wise people always learn from other people’s experiences.

    God bless

  3. Happy Big B Day, my friend…Many, many more.

  4. Happy birthday good friend. What a time to be born and be a part of an epic ‘crossing over’ of human realities!!!

    • Mel Wild says:

      Thanks Mark. It is an epic time to be alive. I recently heard someone say that Christianity is still in its infancy. I think that’s true. We’re just starting to get it! How awesome!

  5. paulfg says:

    Happy Birthday Mel – and cake! Lots of 🎂🎂🎂🎂🎂

  6. Cindy Powell says:

    Happy happy birthday Mel! You were one of God’s very best ideas 🙂 May the years ahead be immersed in more and more (and more and more) of His unstoppable LOVE! And by the way, that is one of my most favorite songs from Housefires’ new album! Love, love, love it!!

    • Mel Wild says:

      Thanks Cindy! I’ll take all of His unstoppable love there is to have! 🙂 And may it overflow out of all of us!
      This song is definitely my favorite on their album, too.

  7. bullroarin says:

    Happy birthday Mel…I’m so glad our paths crossed here in cyber space, and I’m grateful for our friendship and the fact that you’re sharing your experiences with us. I wish you every blessing, Mel, but the reality is that we (I) have been so blessed by your teaching ministry. So…right back at ya Bro.
    ~ Dave
    ps. I’m 62…but I hope I’m just like you when I grow up! 🙂

  8. Chris Jordan says:

    May the Lord richly bless you on your special day brother!

  9. Happy Birthday, Mel. May our Father continue to bless you and embrace you with all His love and grace and smile upon you as you so generously share that love with the rest of us. ❤

  10. Tony says:

    Belated birthday wishes brother of Christ with me and so many more sons and daughters in Christ in our our Fathers house. Bless you. Everyday we celebrate life and living as love ❤️ to our worlds

  11. Sandra Davis says:

    Happy Birthday pastor Mel… I love listening to the sermons and worship via the news letters. Thank you for keeping me connected.
    Love to all my dear family there!
    Sandra Davis

  12. Well… I am really late on this, but happy belated birthday! I have been so blessed by your writing here over the years and I look forward to reading even more insight, wisdom, encouragement, and truth on this site that God places on your heart to share! May God bless you abundantly this year and bless you as you continue ministering to people!

Leave a Reply

