I’m never going back

Man_Sunset2I’m never going back.

I’m never going back to living in fear because I’m learning how to live in His love.

I’m never going back to trying to get God to accept me when He already does.

I’m never going back to trying to please God on my performance treadmill.

I’m never going back to thinking that the fullness that fills God is not how I’m filled.

I’m never going back to believing that knowledge is about accumulating information.

I’m never going back to Bible study that doesn’t lead to my personal transformation.

I’m never going back to seeking fulfillment from this world’s counterfeit affections.

I’m never going back to settling for less than Christ’s heavenly perfections.

I’m never going back to thinking that holiness and righteousness are about my behavior.

I’m never going back to the rollercoaster ride of trying to be my own savior.

Safe_LoveI’m never going back to mixing law with grace.

I’m never going back to living one moment apart from my Father’s embrace.

I’m never going back to trying to follow Jesus by outward imitation.

I’m never going back to seeing myself apart from the “Christ in me” incarnation.

I’m never going back to making “eternal life” about dying and going to some distant place.

I’m never going back to seeing my heavenly Papa without a great big smiling face!

I’m never going back to believing things that won’t make me free.

I’m never going back to disagreeing with what God says about me and calling that humility.

I’m never going back to a fearmongering gospel.

I’m never going back to believing there’s a promise of God that’s not possible.

I’m never going back to living like an orphan waiting for revival.

I’m never going back to where revival is not my normal lifestyle.

I’m never going back to praying my beggarly prayers.

I’m never going back to singing songs as if He’s not already there.

Father_son

I’m never going back to living as if I’m not already home.

I’m never going back to thinking I’m ever alone.

I’m never going back to living in confusion about who I am.

I’m never going back to living in my past or my future, for I’m living in the Great I Am.

I’m never going back to judging and blaming others.

I’m never going back to thinking we’re not all one as sisters and brothers.

I’ve made up my mind. I’m never going back.

***************************************

If you’ve been following my blog and haven’t figured it out by now, “Simple Gospel” by United Pursuit is currently my favorite album. Every song is so good in its own way. Especially, this faithful declaration…and I’m never going back on that!

Oceans of love,
Mel

Never Going Back
By Andrea Marie Reagan |Brandon Hampton | Brock Human | Michael Ketterer | Will Reagan
© Capitol CMG Genesis (Admin. by Capitol CMG Publishing)
United Pursuit Music (Admin. by Capitol CMG Publishing)

Faithful one no matter how far I run
You lead me home, You extend Your love
Patiently, fathering the orphan in me
You say I’m Your own

I never am alone
I never am alone
You found me

I’ve made up my mind
I’m never going back
I’m never going back

Righteousness found only in Your face
You see my heart, You extend Your grace
Eyes open falling in love again
You say I’m Your own

It was always You
It was always You
You found me

You call me your own
I’m never going back
I’m never going back

Oh – oh
Oh – oh

I’m singing out your lovely name
I’m giving you everything
You make my soul alive
You put your love inside

There’s nothing that I have need of
There’s nothing you haven’t done
You make my soul alive
You put your love inside

CCLI# 7047291

About Mel Wild

God's favorite (and so are you), a son and a father, happily married to the same beautiful woman for 37 years. We have three incredible adult children. My passion is pursuing the Father's heart in Christ and giving it away to others. My favorite pastime is being iconoclastic and trailblazing the depths of God's grace. I'm also senior pastor of Cornerstone Church in Wisconsin.
This entry was posted in Faith, Identity, Sonship, Worship and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to I’m never going back

  1. Lance says:

    That’s beautiful Mel. Something about being born comes to mind. We can’t go back, right? Once our minds have be renewed and our thinking is transformed, we can’t go back into death, right? When you wake up from the nightmare and the sun is shinnig, you wonder what you were so afraid of and even the images of the nightmare are just images and have no power. Yeah we can’t go back to the other side of born again.

    • Mel Wild says:

      That’s a good way to look at it. For me, once I finally encountered the Father’s love, I finally understood what it means to be a son. Can’t even imagine going back to the 20+ years living as an orphan Christian any more. No going back, even if I wanted to! Once you taste love fear loses its appeal.

  2. LightWriters says:

    Awesome and glorious! Amen and praises!

  3. Steven Sawyer says:

    Another awesome, thought-provoking word, Mel. And one you’ll likely see on FHG some day soon. You’re an awesome man of God. Thanks for sharing. God bless.

  4. Brother, thank you so much! I love music and am always on the “prowl” for more inspirational music that lifts the spirit! I will definitely check out their other music! Thank you also for such an awesome and inspired proclamation to never go back to those things that slow down our growth and maturity in Christ!! God bless you for this and Praise God for such an awesome inspiration!

  5. Reblogged this on FOR THE LOVE OF GOD and commented:
    Here is an awesome and inspirationally proclamation of moving forward in the Lord. Please visit Pastor Mel’s site to also see the great music video that will inspire and lift you up.

Leave a Reply

