I will rejoice in the simple Gospel

Simple_Gospel“I will rejoice in the simple Gospel.” This statement in the song, “Simple Gospel,” by United Pursuit is a life anthem for me.

This is not a cheap gospel because God bankrupted heaven for it. He did the unthinkable by becoming a man and giving what was most precious to Him…for us. Jesus already did everything that needs to be done.

For me, to add anything to this is what actually cheapens the Gospel.

To say that I have to be sorry enough, be sincere enough, behave enough…is to cheapen it.

What I must do is receive it…as is. Believe it…as is. Actually, I must receive His life…live in His life.

This means I must stop putting Him in my religious box of rituals, do’s and don’ts, endless penances, and other dead works that I might think to add to this simple Gospel.

I must choose to live out every day by grace through faith. This is very different than walking out every day by outward moral restraint. I must learn to trust the only restraint that works….walking in the Spirit (Gal.5:16, 22-23), which is walking in His life.

I need to stop adding bad news to His glorious good news because I have trouble believing these simple truths. In other words, I need to stop making God in my own image because I’m confused about who I am in Christ.

I must learn to give up shame and fear and simply receive His love (Rom.8:1; 1 John 14:18-19), which is the only motivator that can truly rule my heart (2 Cor.5:14).

Paul tells us that anything other than faith and grace is “another gospel” (Gal.1:6-9; 3:1-5). He also warns us about preaching “another Jesus,” which is being corrupted from the simplicity which is in Christ

But I fear, lest somehow, as the serpent deceived Eve by his craftiness, so your minds may be corrupted from the simplicity that is in Christ. For if he who comes preaches another Jesus whom we have not preached, or if you receive a different spirit which you have not received, or a different gospel which you have not accepted—you may well put up with it! (2 Cor.11:3-4 NKJV)

Here’s how the Mirror Bible brings even more clarity to this warning:

I am concerned for you that you might pine away through the illusion of separation from Christ and that, just like Eve, you might become blurry-eyed and deceived into believing a lie about yourselves. The temptation is to exchange the truth about perfection with the idea of imperfection and shame, by thinking that perfection requires your toil and all manner of wearisome labor! (2 Cor.11:3 MIRROR)

What is the simple gospel? It’s that Jesus has invited us into His life with the Father (John 14:6; 17:3). Our part is to accept the invitation. That’s it!

I now identify myself with Christ. His life is now my life. His behavior is now my behavior. His holiness and righteousness are now my holiness and righteousness. His perfection is now my perfection. Of course, this makes my religious performance-driven head spin, while every cell in my body resonates with wonder and joy.

But if it sounds too good to be true, it’s probably the true gospel.

The simple Gospel.

So I find myself left with this one thought…I will rejoice in the simple Gospel. On that note, here’s the song that resonates with my heart. I hope it will for you, too.

Simple Gospel
By Brock Human, Will Reagan
© Capitol CMG Genesis (Admin. by Capitol CMG Publishing)
United Pursuit Music (Admin. by Capitol CMG Publishing)

I want to know You Lord like I know a friend
I want to know You Lord
I want to know You Lord like I know a friend
I want to know You Lord

So I’m laying down all my religion
I’m laying down
I want to know You Lord
So I’m laying down all my religion
I’m laying down
I want to know You Lord

I used to think that I could box You in
But I’m laying down
I want to know You Lord
I used to think that I could box You in
But I’m laying down
I want to know You Lord

Lord I’ve been told to be ashamed
Lord I’ve been told I don’t measure up
Lord I’ve been told I’m not good enough
But You’re here with me

I reach out and You find me in the dust
And You say no amount of untruths can separate us

I will rejoice in the simple gospel
I will rejoice in You Lord
I will rejoice in the simple gospel
I will rejoice in You Lord
I will rejoice in the simple gospel
I will rejoice in You Lord

CCLI Song # 7047285
About Mel Wild

God's favorite (and so are you), a son and a father, happily married to the same beautiful woman for 36 years. We have three incredible adult children. My passion is pursuing the Father's heart in Christ and giving it away to others. My favorite pastime is being iconoclastic and trailblazing the depths of God's grace. I'm also senior pastor of Cornerstone Church in Wisconsin.
This entry was posted in Grace, Worship and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I will rejoice in the simple Gospel

  1. Steven Sawyer says:

    My goodness. Another wonderful, thought-provoking post, my friend. Thank you so much for sharing. Keep those Spiritual jewels coming, God bless.

  2. Kathy says:

    Awesome song! Love the music you put in your messages!

  3. Ana says:

    Thank you, thank you, thank you! I’ve been thinking about the greatness of the Simple Gospel for the past week but I couldn’t put it into words! Praise be to God! I’ve been born again for 20 years and I just found out how awesome God’s love is! It is FIERCE!
    Looking forward to see you in Heaven brother!

    • Mel Wild says:

      Amen, His love IS fierce, it’s relentless and overflowing all our fears. Thanks Ana. Blessings to you. And what a blessing it will be when we finally see each other as we really are! 🙂

Leave a Reply

