Here’s my heart Lord

HeresmyheartI will end this week with a David Crowder song. One of our pastors played it during his message a few weeks ago and I thought it appropriate for a devotional to my series on becoming human.

Being fully human means that our heart is fully alive to God, which makes it fully alive to others.

But in order to do this, we need to trust God with everything that weighs us down. This isn’t easy because when we’ve tried this with others, our heart usually gets trampled on. Here’s what I wrote about that in my book, Sonshift

I think most of us are afraid to love intimately because we could get hurt. Many of us have been deeply hurt by others when we finally did open our heart. Love means risk. Maybe this will help you take courage here. I’ve found that if I let Him hold my heart, I can give it away to you. You cannot hurt what He is holding. So, don’t be afraid. Let it all go. Give it to Him to hold for you. You can truly find rest in His embrace. (Sonshift, p. 116)

This is probably the truest thing I’ve ever found in my journey with God. I encourage you to open your heart to Love, for He is love.

On that note, what always amazes me is that we pastors and leaders are so good at stuffing people’s heads full of Bible information, wowing and inspiring with great revelation, but spend so little time teaching people how to open their hearts to Love.

And it doesn’t end there.

As Heidi Baker would say, love looks like something. The Bible agrees. John told us in his first epistle that we cannot say we know God and not love others; we certainly cannot say we love God and hate others (1 John 4:7, 8, 20). James tells us that real faith and love looks like meeting others in their need (James 2:14-17). Paul tells us, without love, nothing else we do or say matters (1 Cor.13:1-3).

The song is, “Here’s My Heart Lord,” written by Chris Tomlin, Jason Ingram, and Louie Giglio, performed by David Crowder at a Passion Conference.

END_IT_logo_reverseI picked this particular video version of the song by Marco Fesyuk (The Video Lyrics Guy) because he ties the song so creatively with shots from the “End It” movement against human trafficking. This important ministry exemplifies what it means to be human…what love looks like.

As I wrote in “Becoming Human – part two,” when I’m fully human, I can walk in intimacy and connection with all people. I don’t need to be right; I need to understand. My goal is to communicate, to share life, to comfort those who hurt, to give value, to hate injustice and all inhumanities to man. I’m not driven by fear, greed, or a need for affirm myself. I’m already affirmed by Love, and so I have everything that I am to give to you.

With that said, why don’t you take a few minutes to soak in this song and make it your prayer. And, as you do, give Him all your “I am not’s.” Open your heart and let Him heal you from the inside out. Then you can give what you have away, bringing love and healing to others.

That’s the way it works. We love because we are loved! (1 John 4:19).

Beloved child of God, let Him love you. This broken and hurting world really needs to see you whole so they can see what this love looks like in human form.

You are SO loved!

About Mel Wild

God's favorite (and so are you), a son and a father, happily married to the same beautiful woman for 36 years. We have three incredible adult children. My passion is pursuing the Father's heart in Christ and giving it away to others. My favorite pastime is being iconoclastic and trailblazing the depths of God's grace. I'm also senior pastor of Cornerstone Church in Wisconsin.
This entry was posted in Love, Worship and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Here’s my heart Lord

  1. Lance says:

    So good Mel. Your heart is huge and your love is infectious. Let the light shine bright. Love you bro. What an amazing human you are. We can all learn from your wisdom.

    • Mel Wild says:

      Thanks Lance. And, gee willikers, what a wonderfully encouraging thing to say! 🙂 Anything I have shows that we have an amazing Papa! I certainly have a long way to go, but after 35 years of searching like an orphan, I finally found out where to find this “humanness.” And there He was, living right inside of me all along. It’s good to be home!
      Love you too, bro!

  2. This is a great song, Mel. One of my favourites.

    I ordered your book btw, just read the 1st chapter…it’s pretty amazing so far. I like how it can be read as independent chapters too. Great idea. Peace, John.

    Just back from a 3 day conf with heidi baker and david wagner. Blasted.

    • Mel Wild says:

      Thanks, John. And thanks for getting my book! I hope you enjoy the adventure into my head. LOL!
      Sounds like you had fun at the conference, too. Love Heidi Baker. Blessings.

Leave a Reply

