You don’t give Your heart in pieces

Heart_piecesThere are songs we love to sing, there are anthems we boldly declare, and then there are songs that change us. “Pieces” by Amanda Cook and Steffany Gretzinger is very much the last type.

We are changed, not because of the melody or clever lyrics, but because we have been apprehended by Love.

This God called Love reaches into the deepest part of us, definitively answering the questions that continue to haunt us….What does God really think of me? Would He still love me if He really knew me? Am I good enough, pretty enough, man enough, smart enough….

For His love penetrates the wall we thought was protecting us…the great sadness, the darkest part of us…the broken pieces of our heart that have diminished us. The Great “I Am” is coming to take all of our “I am not’s” and redefining them in His divine embrace.

I won’t add much more here because the song really says it all. What I want you to know needs to be experienced deep down in your soul. This song can bring us there if we will but open our heart.

I’ve listened to “Pieces” many times on Bethel’s latest album, “Have it All,” but I’m using a live version from IHOP-KC’s 2015 “One Thing” Conference here (thank you, Søren Lodberg Jensen, for the YouTube video).  I want you to listen to this version because of the spontaneous part in the last half of the song (the spontaneous lyrics are included below). This song will mess with your brokenness!

Precious sought out one, would you take some time and hear the Father’s heart of love for you? He knows where all your broken pieces are, and He’s going to love you all back together again! He’s done this for me so many times. I never grow weary of His pursuit of me. I want more!

One thing I know. He never withholds anything from us because He only knows how to love with all of His heart, soul, mind, and strength. And He wants to heal His broken and tattered Bride and make us…the objects of His deepest affections…whole again.

He’s gonna love you together again
He’s gonna love us together again
We’ve been a broken body
But we’re coming together again
We’re coming together
Because He’s not in pieces
Oh, He’s not in pieces

Get ready…He’s coming for all of us! No more pieces…

Pieces
By Amanda Cook | Steffany Frizzell Gretzinger
© 2015 Bethel Music Publishing

Unreserved unrestrained
Your love is wild
Your love is wild for me
It isn’t shy it’s unashamed
Your love is proud to be seen with me

You don’t give Your heart in pieces
You don’t hide Yourself to tease us

Uncontrolled uncontained
Your love is a fire burning bright for me
It’s not just a spark it’s not just a flame
Your love is a light
That all the world will see
All the world will see

Your love’s not fractured
It’s not a troubled mind
It isn’t anxious
It’s not the restless kind

Your love’s not passive
It’s never disengaged
It’s always present
It hangs on every word we say

Love keeps its promises
It keeps its word
It honors what’s sacred
‘Cause its vows are good

Your love’s not broken
It’s not insecure
Your love’s not selfish
Your love is pure

CCLI Song # 7051641

ADDITIONAL LYRICS (Spontaneous):

You’re holding nothing back from me
You gave it all
You gave it all

It changes everything
It’s changing everything I believed about love

You’re not a man that You should lie
You’re not a father that forsakes us
No, You’re the real thing
You give Your whole heart
Holding nothing back from me

It’s not in Your nature
To withhold from me
It’s not in Your nature
To withhold from me
No, You give everything

Somebody needs to know tonight
He gives His whole heart
And when He says He loves you
There are no strings attached

You could never earn His love
You could never work for His love
You could never be pretty enough
More beautiful, give more,
Do better, work harder,
He just loves you because…
He just loves you because…

This is not about performing,
Who sings the best, brings the best
He loved you before,
He even knew your name
Before you knew the way

You don’t give Your love in pieces
You’re not cruel, You’re kind
You don’t hide Yourself to tease us

(spoken)
I see His hands gathering pieces of hearts
And putting them back together

He knows what breaks our hearts
Where to find all the pieces
He knows what broke your heart
He knows just where to find all the pieces

He’s coming for you
He’s coming for you, coming for you
Ready or not, He’s coming for you
He’s coming for you

Oh, maybe you’ve never known love
It’s chasing you down
Oh, but He’s coming for you tonight!
Oh! He’s gathering the pieces!
Of broken lives, broken hearts
Broken minds…

He’s gonna love you together again
He’s gonna love us together again
We’ve been a broken body
But we’re coming together again
We’re coming together
Because He’s not in pieces
Oh, He’s not in pieces

He’s coming for all of you
He’s coming for all of you
Every heart make Him room
Because He’s coming for you

About Mel Wild

God's favorite (and so are you), a son and a father, happily married to the same beautiful woman for 36 years. We have three incredible adult children. My passion is pursuing the Father's heart in Christ and giving it away to others. My favorite pastime is being iconoclastic and trailblazing the depths of God's grace. I'm also senior pastor of Cornerstone Church in Wisconsin.
This entry was posted in Father Heart of God, Love, Worship and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to You don’t give Your heart in pieces

  1. Anonymous says:

    Yea, it’s a great song for sure, Mel. If you’ve not listened to Brave New World by Amanda Cook, I’d highly recommend it. Probably the best album Bethel has released tbh.

    Mercy and See the End are awesome.

    In terms of Father giving His heart in pieces… Jesus received us into His Life, and where does He live? In the Father’s heart according to John 14, John 1, and 1 John. It’s impossible for Him to give us his heart in pieces because we Live inside Christ, the Bethel, the house of God, the only place where the Father’s glory dwells.

    The House of God, Christ, is located inside the Father’s heart! How awesome is that!

    Peace

    JohnF

    • Mel Wild says:

      Amen, John. God said through Isaiah (Isa.66), who will build a house for Me? Heaven is my throne and earth is my footstool… Well, Jesus did! When He brought us into Himself and seated us with Him in heavenly places (heaven/throne) in these earthly bodies (earth/footstool). We ARE God’s house! That IS awesome…and mind-boggling!

      Thanks for the CD reference, too. I will check it out. Blessings.

    • You’ll love that Amanda Cook CD. It is seriously good. So many good songs on it.
      Peace
      John

  2. secretangel says:

    Beautiful song! I had never heard of Amanda Cook but I will have to listen to more of her music. Thanks for sharing, Mel!! God bless you, my brother!!

  3. Cindy Powell says:

    That has been one of my very most treasured new songs since Amanda Cook released the first version. I’ve not heard the version from Onething but love the spontaneous lyrics and look forward to listening and basking in more of His goodness. ❤️Been missing lots of my favorite blogging peeps but been really focused and also excited with things are that really hopping (spiritually speaking) here in SoCal! It is definitely a new day!! BIG expectation for Azusa Now (gathering at the Coliseum) tomorrow. Blessings to you Mel!

    • Mel Wild says:

      Missed you, too, Cindy. But glad good things are happening your way. Are you going to Azusa Now? Maureen and I were just in SoCal to visit my son and daughter in law and go to a wedding. Will be watching online when I can. Will be praying and worshiping with you. Blessings.

Leave a Reply

