Re-Imagine

Pieter_Bruegel_the_Elder_-_The_Tower_of_Babel_(Vienna)_-_Google_Art_Project_-_editedLast Sunday, I asked my church family this question: What would the world look like if every person on the planet walked in love instead of fear?

What if nothing we did was motived by fear? What if we were only motivated by the Father’s love?

What if we didn’t see ourselves separated from God or each other? What if we valued every other person exactly the same way our heavenly Father values them? (John 3:16) What if we sojourned in God’s love, and loved others the same way He loves us? (John 15:9)

What if we actually believed Jesus when He said that all the Law and the Prophets are summed up in love? (Matt.22:37-40), or that the following statement is the answer to every issue concerning us?

18 There is no fear in love; but perfect love casts out fear, because fear involves punishment, and the one who fears is not perfected in love. (1 John 4:18 NASB)

You see, our problem is not an “us” versus “them” problem. It’s not even about who’s right, who’s wrong, or all our “isms.” Our problem is fear. And living in fear is seeing God and each other in this world through the Serpent’s interpretation. And this is especially true in all our world religions, including the religious version of Christianity.

As my friend, Dan Notley, said…

“The greatest problem facing the human race in general, but the church in particular, is not sin, it’s fear. Fear is the only weapon that Satan has. But if you can buy into the lies, if you buy into the fear, then everything else becomes possible for him.” (from my post, “Leaving our fear-based theology for love“)

I’ve already shared in my posts about fear and love that we build our towers to heaven with our “steps to get right with God” in order to appease the angry deity and escape punishment. Sadly, many would rather run on this anxiety-driven treadmill rather than rest in an intimate, moment-by-moment, relationship with the Lover of our soul.

And the reason we avoid this intimacy and keep our distance is because of fear.

Love is a Person, and loving well is a fruit of the Spirit (Gal.:5:22). It’s in receiving His love that we learn how to love (emphasis added):

19 We love, because He first loved us.  (1 John 4:19 NASB)

As long as we’re trying to win God’s love, we remain in Satan’s dungeon of fear and unbelief. It’s only in God’s unconditional love that fear flees and we are free.

This fear-paradigm carries over into all our relationships—our friendships, families, marriages, workplaces, politics, governments, education, media… coloring how we see ourselves and how we treat one another.

True peace in the world does not come by successfully restraining violence, stopping terrorism, or having the strongest military. It’s found in walking in His love.

For true peace is not circumstantial, it’s relational.

Unfortunately, when we walk in fear, a strong military is a necessity. War, violence, acts of terror, manipulation, coercion, greed, exploitation, and all other acts of aggression are the evil fruits of living in fear.

My point is, love makes all these things irrelevant.

When we see that we are in Christ, who proceeds out from the very center of the Father’s being (which is what “seated at His right hand” literally means), we will see each other there, too.

20 In that day you will know that I am in My Father, and you in Me, and I in you. (John 14:20 NASB)

Finally, our witness to the world is not dependent on achieving lockstep doctrinal agreement, or being right about who’s “in” and who’s “out.” In fact, you could argue that this pursuit has divided us more than anything else! No, Jesus was very clear about the weightier matters of life. The world will know we are His by our love for one another.

35 By this all will know that you are My disciples, if you have love for one another.” (John 13:35 NKJV)

Depositphotos_45465677_xsThese are just some of the thoughts I pondered as I thought about John Lennon’s song, “Imagine,” and adapted the words for my own offering (see below). While I believe his philosophy was misguided, ironically, he was spot-on with God’s dream for you and me, and for the whole world.

You’ll see that I didn’t have to change some of the lyrics because, frankly, they’re in agreement with love. After all, Lennon did pen the most significant truth that has ever been written in a song, “All you need is love!”

You may say I’m a dreamer, but I don’t think I’m the only one. I can see it so clearly through His lens of love, even though I still have many fears that need to go in my own life. But as long as I have breath, I will still sing His song of love. Will you join me?

Reimagine

Imagine there’s a heaven
It’s easy if you try
No condemnation toward us
The Father’s love inside
Imagine Christ in all the people
Living in His love…

Imagine only freedom
It isn’t hard to do
No fear to separate us
And no religion too
Imagine Christ in all the people
Living in His peace…

You may say I’m a dreamer
But I’m not the only one
I hope someday you’ll join us
And the world will live as one

Imagine no aggressions
I wonder if you can
No need for greed or hunger
A brotherhood of man
Imagine Christ in all the people
Sharing all the world…

You may say I’m a dreamer
But I’m not the only one
I hope someday you’ll join us
And the world will live as one.

About Mel Wild

God's favorite (and so are you), a son and a father, happily married to the same beautiful woman for 36 years. We have three incredible adult children. My passion is pursuing the Father's heart in Christ and giving it away to others. My favorite pastime is being iconoclastic and trailblazing the depths of God's grace. I'm also senior pastor of Cornerstone Church in Wisconsin.
This entry was posted in Freedom, Identity, Love and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Re-Imagine

  1. Michael says:

    Great thoughts here! I love that you say we build a tower of fear with our efforts to get right with God. It’s true. And love is a person. I find that I must routinely check my heart to make sure I’m not falling for mere religion as opposed to dynamic relationship. Good words, Mel.

    • Mel Wild says:

      Thanks Michael Amen. We definitely.do need that reminder, fellowship, to remember who we are and Whose we are.
      Good to hear from you. 🙂 Blessings.

Leave a Reply

