The story behind “Good Good Father”

Here’s a video interview with Pat Barrett and Tony Brown (Housefires) on Worship Together’s New Song Café where they discuss the story behind their song, “Good Good Father.” Pat also shows how to play the song at the end.

I posted “Good Good Father” last February and talked about how it had become an anthem for our local church. Actually, it should probably be the theme song for this blog! Since then, this post has received thousands of hits. So I thought it would be appropriate to follow up and post this interview.

Again, what I love about this song is what it says about our heavenly Father. Yes, we’ve all heard a thousand stories about what people think He’s like. What we’re finding out for ourselves is that He’s not a mad, mad dad; no, He’s a good, good Father! He’s perfect in all of His ways…to us!

Enjoy the interview.

UPDATE (10/6/15): Here’s another interview with Pat Barrett by Chris Tomlin that also has some great insight about the importance of this song.

About Mel Wild

God's favorite (and so are you), a son and a father, happily married to the same beautiful woman for 36 years. We have three incredible adult children. My passion is pursuing the Father's heart in Christ and giving it away to others. My favorite pastime is being iconoclastic and trailblazing the depths of God's grace. I'm also senior pastor of Cornerstone Church in Wisconsin.
This entry was posted in Father Heart of God, Worship and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The story behind “Good Good Father”

  1. Miss Cynthia L. H. says:

    Thank you for posting this. I heard the song for the first time on the radio in my car yesterday on my way to work. I just wanted it to keep playing over and over! I couldn’t wait to hear it again. So today, doing an online search for it and I listened to Chris Tomlin first, but then I stumbled onto Housefires — wow — what a phenomenon. It has been completely refreshing to watch their sincerity and total immersion in who God really is. It is truth in word and motion. It’s been a new starting point, I want to tell you, for me, because I am highly allergic to fake Christianity — so much so that I’ve put the brakes on most of it in my life because I don’t want to be that way. At all. Ever. I am very thankful to the Holy Spirit for reaching out to me where I am and in a gentle way, drawing me into this beautiful reality. I can’t wait to introduce this song to my daughters and sing it with them.

    • Mel Wild says:

      So glad the song has impacted you this way. It really says it all about what our heavenly Father is really like. By the way, I loved your line, “highly allergic to fake Christianity.” I think I am, too! Blessings.

  2. #tearsofabrokenvessel
    Greetings, Mel Wild—I have been a follower of Christ for many years and yes I will tell you that I am far from a perfect Christian. I have fell down so many times in my life and left lives in total confusen and heartbreak. I am what the world classifies as an ADDICT. I fought Alcoholism, suicide attemts, spent 12 times in medical detox, 11 times in soberiety programs…..one of them was a Christian based program called Freedom Christian Center in Aurora, MO. It is led by a God fearing and God loving man Pastor Tony Swillium. I spent five times there and finally God took root the fifth time. He repaired the unreopairable, To cut a long story short I now Run a Sober living home in Ozark, Mo clled Freedom Finders. God is key in our daily walk. God is centered here and I am so grateful when I heard the song “Good Good Father”, by Chris Tomlin. I work for a Christian centered Marketing firm called Paramount Communications in Nixa, Mo. Every morning we pray and spend time in the presence of God. Today I heard this song playing over the speakers at wotk and while i was on the phone with a customer the spirit of God caught me in such a way that I had to ask if I could call this customer back, she said yes…(happily) I then broke down in my little cubical in a flood of tears. I am so thankful that Inow have a softened heart and an obedient heart that loves God. This song has helped me one step farther in knowing just how GOOD of a FATHER He is to me.

    Sincerely,
    Howard Sinclair
    1717 N 16th St
    Ozark, Mo 65721

    God Bless you—por vida

  3. Jane Kirk _ St. Stephen's Mission, NH says:

    What an awesome song!!! I so love it! Wish I could get my church to listen/sing it! Maybe I will, if Jesus leads me to there!

  4. Anonymous says:

    When the very core of your being is shaking as I have been in a very life changing trial for 2 years the truth of this songs helps hold me up so I do not fall, except to my knees in awe!!!!

  5. Melissa Haigh says:

    today this was our theme song for FAther’s day in our Aussie church – thank you somuch there were tears flowing down many facs and hearts.

  6. Anonymous says:

    I believe this song is a blessing to those who the enemy stole their earthly father. Knowing that we have a God Heavenly Father is a great comfort. Amen. Blessings

    • Teresia kabura says:

      I think this blog was for sometime back but I just work up this morning and worshiped with this song. .and because it’s one of my favourite I decided to check out the story behind it…and I was just in tears reading it..Not knowing my dad for the 24 years I have lived was not easy although I acted like I was fine….there is always a part of a daughter that always wants to reach our to a father and when you can’t get that you try and reach it out in many other ways like relationship….and that pretty much messed me up

      but now when I came to a real relationship with Jesus Christ(a year ago) and I understand God as my father and that’s how I always relate with him…I can say that it has been different realy different he has and he is still filling up the emptiness that was on my heart

      and so this song does it all for me….it makes me love my father more because he loves me…and when I was still a sinner he still sent His son to die for me.I know that he is not just a Father but a good and perfect Father.

      Because of Grace
      Teresia Kabura
      from Kenya

      • Mel Wild says:

        What a wonderful testimony, Teresia. Thanks for sharing it. God is a good, good Father! I wrote a book (“Sonshift”) about my own story and how the Father’s love that I never knew changed everything for me.
        Blessings to you.

Leave a Reply

