This love | Housefires

housefires-599x600I thought this song by Pat Barrett of Housefires would be a good way to finish up the week after our look at the atonement. We’re finally seeing our heavenly Father in a true light. He’s the prodigal and elder brother’s father. He waits for us to come home; everything He has is ours. He will never leave us or reject us, even when we run away from Him. 

As you listen to this song, I pray that you will feel Abba’s warm embrace as He wraps His arms of love around you, and that you will be encouraged to reciprocate that love. No matter what you may be going through in this life, He is there…every moment, everyday, always.

Blessings,
Mel

This Love (Spontaneous)
© 2014 Pat Barrett Music (Admin. by Joseph Barrett)

Just to know You
To really taste and see
To really taste and see
To really walk with You
To really walk with You
Every moment, every day
Walk with You, to be with You

To have my eye open to see You
To have my eyes open to see You
To have my heart open to know You
Every day, every day

This love is an everyday kind of love
Every morning I’m in it
This love is an everyday kind of love
Every evening I’m in it

This love doesn’t leave me all alone
And it never forgets its own
This love won’t leave me because my past is bad
This love lifts me up above the waves
I don’t need to be overwhelmed
It raises me upon the Rock
So my feet can finally stand on ground

It’s every moment, everyday, always
This love is every moment, everyday, always
This love is every moment, everyday, always
Always, always, this love

This love is an everyday kind of love
Every morning I’m in it
This love is an everyday kind of love
Every evening I’m in it

This love never leaves you to walk a road alone
His voice calls out above the noise
This love doesn’t care if you don’t think you can cut it
He takes you in, and He lifts you up
And He gives you faith, so you can lift your head,
And you can run real fast, and you can feel His joy
This love, this love
You can feel His joy

This love is an everyday kind of love
Every morning I’m in it
This love is an everyday kind of love
Every evening I’m in it

There’s no need to be scared or afraid anymore
Cos this love will cast out fear
This love has cast out fear, so you can stand
Oh, there is no need to fear anymore
So just lift your head
Oh, just lift your head

This love is unlike anything you’ve ever known
It doesn’t make sense
This love will ruin every fear
I don’t need to be scared, that fear is ruined
This love makes it so you can finally be free

There is no chain this love can’t break
There is no chain this love can’t break
So be free!

This love is unlike anything you’ve ever seen
It can open any door
It can teach you to love
It will help you forgive
Forgive yourself and those who have hurt you

There is no chain this love can’t break
There is no chain this love can’t break
So be free!
  

CCLI Song #7036677

About Mel Wild

God's favorite (and so are you), a son and a father, happily married to the same beautiful woman for 36 years. We have three incredible adult children. My passion is pursuing the Father's heart in Christ and giving it away to others. My favorite pastime is being iconoclastic and trailblazing the depths of God's grace. I'm also senior pastor of Cornerstone Church in Wisconsin.
This entry was posted in Love, Worship and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to This love | Housefires

  1. secretangel says:

    Beautiful song! I had never heard of this singer before but will have to check him out. God bless you!

  2. Jonah says:

    Whew. I love the simplicity. Hey Mel check out United Pursuit’s “Simple Gospel” album. Beauty. They’re catching the grace of God in a way that’s undoing me.

    • Jonah says:

      Gosh listening to this song and thinking about the atonement journey we went on is sort of bittersweet. Thank you for stewarding His grace and love Mel, by recklessly throwing it like wildflower seeds through the fields. You play in His Kingdom and it is contagious and so much fun. Freedom and innocence…

      We were praying with a gal today who struggled with self hatred and cutting and she finally got the nerve to talk with Jesus. The whole room seemed to shift as she said she felt His message to her is that God was not, and would never be mad at her. The peace and security I felt in affirming that, and not hearing the doctrinal “buts” in the back of my mind whatsoever, was a sort of milestone personally. It was so restful.

      I can just be accepted and loved, no strings. I can actually just let go and trust. I don’t need to fear a hyper-critical, disapproving and ashamed father… But I feel at home and eager to be lifted up in His embrace, and see the eyes of “this love” staring back. I am eager to notice Him in the everyday stuff, rather than constantly worrying I haven’t noticed Him well enough and disappointed Him. He delights in me and I never will be able to outrun His love. It’s all feeling very real.

      So thanks Mel, for diving in. It’s milk and honey and bread and wine! Blessings and love. Something really settled through this exploration, and I know there are many mansions still to see!

      • Mel Wild says:

        Thanks for your encouraging comments, Jonah. And what an awesome testimony! I love it when people encounter the Father’s love like that. It’s transformational. And like you said, we don’t have to take away from it with our orphan-hearted theology. Love transforms hearts, not fear. Thanks for sharing this. Blessings to you.

    • Mel Wild says:

      Thanks. I will definitely check out that album. I really like United Pursuit’s other stuff. Blessings.

  3. Tony says:

    Reblogged this on Christ as us and commented:
    This Love by House fires is only if my favorite worship songs it so perfectly tells of the true nature of God’s love. Enjoy ❤️

Leave a Reply

