He knows me

Man_Sunset2I haven’t posted a worship song in awhile so I thought I would post one of my favorites. This is the live version of Steffany  Gretzinger’s, “You Know Me.” I’ve spent much floor time with God to this song over the last few years.

I would like to share some thoughts before we get to the song.

One Scripture passage that comes to mind with this song is probably the same one most people would think of, which is Psalm 139. This whole psalm is so good, I will only include part of it here, but you can read the rest yourself by clicking on the link at the end.

1 O Lord, You have searched me and known me.
2 You know my sitting down and my rising up;
You understand my thought afar off.
3 You comprehend my path and my lying down,
And are acquainted with all my ways.
4 For there is not a word on my tongue,
But behold, O Lord, You know it altogether.
5 You have hedged me behind and before,
And laid Your hand upon me.
6 Such knowledge is too wonderful for me;
It is high, I cannot attain it.
7 Where can I go from Your Spirit?
Or where can I flee from Your presence?
8 If I ascend into heaven, You are there;
If I make my bed in hell, behold, You are there. (Psalm 139)

The first wonderful thing to know from this is that you’re never alone. God is always with you. This knowledge must be the foundation of our worship. His presence is already with us. We’re not trying to get God to come and meet us from some place outside of us; rather, we want to be made more aware of His presence already in us.

There’s also no such thing as hiding from God. That’s like a child playing peek-a-boo, only the game we play is sadly misguided, for there is no need to hide from the Lover of our soul.

God already knows everything about you.

He already knows every detail of your life. He sees the things that have hurt you, and the contradictions caused by your fickle heart that have confounded you and made you look away from His penetrating gaze in shame.

He also sees the longing in your heart to be better than you are.

Be at peace. There is no fear in love.

He is standing now behind the wall you’ve erected, looking through the lattice of your heart (Songs 2:9).

Do not doubt His intention toward you, for He will never turn His face from you.

Beloved, do you think you need to do something, or change something in order to win God’s affection? His heart is always fully for you. His arms are always fully open!

Your part is to respond. So respond.

His eyes are like white-hot flames of fire, peering into your heart, illuminating and revealing who you really are in Him, and burning away “all that is not” in His consuming love.

One last thought. It says in Colossians 1:16-17 that all things contained in both heaven and earth consist in Christ. He holds all things together…yet He knows you uniquely…He loves you completely.

He is filled with the fullness of the Godhead; and you are filled with the fullness of Him! (See Col.2:9-10; Eph.3:19 AMP).

This divine dance of reciprocating love is our worship.

So sit back and ponder this awesome wonder as you listen to the song. Let the words, “You know me” wash over your weary soul.

You Know Me
By Steffany Frizzell Gretzinger | William Matthews
© 2011 Bethel Music Publishing

You have been and You will be
You have seen and You will see

You know when I rise and when I fall
When I come or go You see it all
You hung the stars and You move the sea
And still You know me

(Whoa) oh oh oh You know me
Whoa oh oh oh (You know me)

Nothing is hidden from Your sight
Wherever I go You find me
You know every detail of my life
You are God and You don’t miss a thing

You memorize me

CCLI Song # 6149709

About Mel Wild

God's favorite (and so are you), a son and a father, happily married to the same beautiful woman for 36 years. We have three incredible adult children. My passion is pursuing the Father's heart in Christ and giving it away to others. My favorite pastime is being iconoclastic and trailblazing the depths of God's grace. I'm also senior pastor of Cornerstone Church in Wisconsin.
This entry was posted in Worship and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to He knows me

  1. Lance says:

    Imagine if we could all know His presence. The fear of The Lord is the beginning of wisdom. What if this “fear” is nothing more than seeing how big and amazing and ever-present is our Abba who is awesome with or without us and still chooses us? Just saying. Yay God!

    • Mel Wild says:

      Amen. The fear of the Lord is awe-struck wonder from finally seeing Him as He is and being overwhelmed by His goodness and love. The wrong kind of fear comes from seeing Him with the wrong heart–and orphaned heart. It’s still crazy, amazing to me how He chooses to live inside of us clay pots! Wow! Yay God is right!

  2. Cindy Powell says:

    One of my very favorites too 😃 First time I heard it, the last line literally took my breath away. I still remember it … ❤️

    • Mel Wild says:

      Awesome. I love those “God moments” where His love arrests your heart and He tattoos your soul. 🙂 This is truly one of those songs. I am still moved by this song even after probably having heard it over 1,000 times.

  3. Julie Harris says:

    I had not heard that song before I read your post today. It is absolutely beautiful. Thank you for sharing it!

    • Mel Wild says:

      You’re very welcome, Julie. It’s one of my favorites. I’m glad it blessed you. It’s truly a beautiful song in so many ways. Blessings to you.

Leave a Reply

