More thoughts about God’s thoughts toward you

Beach_Brandon_AndrewHow long would it take for God to exhaust all of His thoughts about you?

I shared how God can’t stop thinking about us in my post last week titled, “God’s thoughts toward you.” If you haven’t read that yet, I would suggest you go there first. Today, I would like to put it all into perspective.

I had referred to Psalm 139:17-18, where David was having his mind blown by thinking about how much God thought about him.

Would you like to have your mind blown too?

Okay then, let’s proceed…

First, here’s Psalm 139:17-18 in the New Century Version:

“God, your thoughts are precious to me.
They are so many!
If I could count them,
they would be more than all the grains of sand.
When I wake up,
I am still with you.”

Yeah, I would say “they are so many!” As I shared last time, there are roughly 7.5 quintillion grains of sand in the world. That means that there are at least 7,500,000,000,000,000,000 thoughts that God has about you!

Let’s put this “so many” in perspective:

-> Suppose that God wanted to share one of His good thoughts that He has about you every second of your life, starting from the day of your birth until the day you die.

-> There are 31,557,600 seconds in a year.

-> If you lived to be 80 years old, and God shared one of His thoughts about you every second of your life, it would only exhaust 0.0000027% of the total number…

-> Even if you lived another 1,000 years, you would still have 99.9999972% of His thoughts about you left unshared…

-> In fact, even if it were possible for you to live to be 1,080 years old, you would still have to live for another 2,970,757,150 years, just to get to the “grains of sand” level of God’s total number of good thoughts about you as an individual.

Of course, the psalm states that God’s thoughts toward you are more than the grains of sand, so we’re probably grossly underestimating here…

Just something to think about.

About Mel Wild

God's favorite (and so are you), a son and a father, happily married to the same beautiful woman for 36 years. We have three incredible adult children. My passion is pursuing the Father's heart in Christ and giving it away to others. My favorite pastime is being iconoclastic and trailblazing the depths of God's grace. I'm also senior pastor of Cornerstone Church in Wisconsin.
This entry was posted in Father Heart of God, Identity, Love and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to More thoughts about God’s thoughts toward you

  1. nancyteague says:

    I’ve often thought about scooping up a handful of sand on the beach and trying to count each grain – to try and understand this passage of His thoughts toward each one. Just the idea of trying to count a handful is overwhelming. Now to grasp the speculative mathematical number of global grains. Yee gads! Looks like infinite thoughts are the summation. Oh to let His valuing and enjoyment of each person sink in! Thanks Mel, for trying to help this inconceivable truth be incomprehensibly comprehended. 🙂

    • Mel Wild says:

      Yes, the idea is that His thoughts toward us are infinite and never-ending, but that’s hard to get our mind around. That’s why it’s fun to quantify it so we can understand just how vast His love is for us.

      Thanks for the re-blog, Nancy. Hope you’re recovering from the rain and I pray for complete healing for your back! Blessings.

  2. nancyteague says:

    Reblogged this on Growing In Fullness and commented:
    I’m way behind on my next post because of the May 6th deluge of 10″ in Lincoln that brought water into our home, unbeknownst wet shoes that caused me to slip and fall on our entry way tile thus hurting my back, and 4 weeks of yard work to rectify the water issues. Good thing my husband’s back was strong and ready, as I gingerly helped!

    So I share with you this post by Mel Wild because it goes hand in hand with my series on grace.

    Since the meaning of grace (Old and New Testament) has to do with charming, pleasant, precious, elegance of form and acceptance, yearning for, inclined towards, leaning towards for one’s benefit – then God’s innumerable thoughts toward you is confirmation.

    If we can ‘get this’ (His thoughts toward us) at some level, then we will also begin to understand the fullness of grace.

    May you pause to consider how you stir Him with multitudinous wondrous delighted thoughts – all about YOU!

  3. Love this little glimpse into Father’s heart!!

    My favorite part of this verse is this: “and when I WAKE UP I am still with You.”

    In other words, the stats here only cover our sleep time…roughly one third of our lives. 😉

    Oh, for those who wonder, there are approximately 5,000 grains of sand in a teaspoon (depending on the coarseness).

    We are so loved. I wish we could grasp the vastness of this truth more fully. It would change everything.
    \o/

    • Mel Wild says:

      Amen, Tami. I hadn’t thought about that it it might only be His thoughts during our sleep time. Ahhhh! If we average it out, now we’re talking roughly 23 quintillion thoughts!!! 🙂 We are SOOOOO…loved!
      Thanks for adding to our understanding of His ridiculous, over-the-top love and affection for us. Blessings.

Leave a Reply

