No longer slaves

WeWillNotBeShaken_albumUPDATED ON 2/01/15. I haven’t posted a song from Jonathan & Melissa Helser in a while so I thought it would be a good to do so today. This is a brand new song that’s on Bethel’s latest release, We Will Not Be Shaken that just came out this week.

Jonathan and Melissa’s worship music has probably wrecked me more than any other over the last several years. More times than I can count, I’ve found myself unraveled as their songs have faithfully brought my heart once again into the Father’s embrace.

I’m also so glad they have joined the Bethel Music label. Their God-songs of heaven will reach a wider audience now. Their voice needs to be heard. There is no one better musically, but much more than this, there is no one who captures the sound of the reciprocating love between the Father and His beloved sons and daughters than they do.

This is especially true on their extended times in live worship.

Jonathan and Melissa led worship at Bethel on January 18th (you can see it on ibethel.tv). And that night was no different. If you can get access to this recording, watch it. It was epic…meaning, wrecked once again.

Among the many great songs they sang, they did this one. The chorus is an anthem for those who have found their freedom in the Father’s love.

I’m no longer a slave to fear
I am a child of God

We’re finally learning, no, we’re actually believing what these words mean…

“And because you are sons,
God has sent forth the Spirit of His Son into your hearts,
crying out, “Abba, Father!”
Therefore you are no longer a slave but a son,
and if a son, then an heir of God through Christ.” (Gal.4:7-8 NKJV)

Of the things I love the most about Jonathan and Melissa’s worship are the parts that aren’t actually in the original songs.  Jonathan added these spontaneous words to this particular live performance…

Oh, the furious love of the Father
He has rescued us from darkness
He has brought into His marvelous light
That we may sing the praise
Of Him who raised us
Let us take back our song
Because fear, you’ve had it
For way too long
Let’s take our God song
Fear has had it too long

To this, I say, yes and amen! Let us take back our song! Fear will not hold us back anymore. A new sound is rising over the land as God’s beloved is getting her voice back. He is touching a whole generation and healing orphaned hearts and making them His.

UPDATE 02/01/15: Bethel Music posted this on YouTube since this post was first published. Here is a live version of No Longer Slaves when they led worship at a recent BSSM class. I pray you will be blessed. You’re not a slave anymore, you are a child of God!

 

No Longer Slaves
By Jonathan Helser, Melissa Helser

You unravel me with a melody
You surround me with a song
Of deliverance from my enemies
Till all my fears are gone

I’m no longer a slave to fear
I am a child of God

From my Mother’s womb
You have chosen me
Love has called my name
I’ve been born again into Your family
Your blood flows through my veins

You split the sea so I could walk right through it
All my fears were drowned in perfect love
You rescued me so I could stand and sing
I am child of God

© 2014 Bethel Music Publishing
CCLI Song # 7030123

About Mel Wild

God's favorite (and so are you), a son and a father, happily married to the same beautiful woman for 36 years. We have three incredible adult children. My passion is pursuing the Father's heart in Christ and giving it away to others. My favorite pastime is being iconoclastic and trailblazing the depths of God's grace. I'm also senior pastor of Cornerstone Church in Wisconsin.
This entry was posted in Sonship, Worship and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to No longer slaves

  1. Pingback: No longer slaves | In My Father's House

  2. jilldizon says:

    Reblogged this on Affectionate, Lenient Bella and commented:
    This songs says a lot.. In my journey to the Lord from my past of slavery in SINS and now as a CHILD of God. Hallelujah👆🙌

Leave a Reply

