In over my head | We Will Not Be Shaken

WewillnotbeShakenphoto5I would like to make you aware of new album, We Will Not Be Shaken, by the folks at Bethel.

Actually, at the time of this posting you can watch a powerful worship film from this work for free for 24 hours at bethelmusic.com (as of January 16, 2015). Definitely check it out.

According to their website, We Will Not Be Shaken was filmed on a mountaintop overlooking Shasta Lake in Northern California. The Bethel Music community gathered for an unforgettable evening of worship. The resulting live album and film portrays breathtaking visuals and resounds with declarations, hope and faith. There are 11 new songs led by Bethel Music’s artist collective, including several debut artists.

But if you’re not in time to take advantage of the free showing, you can listen to one of my newest favorite songs below. I particularly like Jenn Johnson’s song, In Over My Head, because it describes my worship with the Lover of my soul to a tee.

Then You crash over me
And I’ve lost control but I’m free
I’m going under I’m in over my head

May this song be your prayer and crash over your soul you as open your heart to His unfathomable and unending love. May it refresh you and draw your heart deep into His. Enjoy!

In Over My Head
By Jenn Johnson, John-Paul Gentile

I have come to this place in my life
I’m full but I’ve not satisfied
This longing to have more of You
I can feel it my heart is convinced
I’m thirsty my soul can’t be quenched
You already know this but still
Come and do whatever You want to

I’m standing knee deep
But I’m out where I’ve never been
I feel You coming and I hear Your voice on the wind

Would You come and tear down
The boxes that I have tried to put You in
Let love come teach me who You are again
Take me back to the place
Where my heart was only about You
And all I wanted was just to be with You
Come and do whatever You want to

Further and further
My heart moves away from the shore
Whatever it looks like whatever may come I am Yours
Further and further
My heart moves away from the shore
Whatever it looks like whatever may come I am Yours

Then You crash over me
And I’ve lost control but I’m free
I’m going under I’m in over my head
And You crash over me I’m where You want me to be
I’m going under I’m in over my head
Whether I sink whether I swim
It makes no difference
When I’m beautifully in over my head
Whether I sink whether I swim
It makes no difference
When I’m beautifully in over my head
I’m beautifully in over my head
I’m beautifully in over my head

© 2014 Bethel Music Publishing
CCLI Song # 7030067

About Mel Wild

God's favorite (and so are you), a son and a father, happily married to the same beautiful woman for 36 years. We have three incredible adult children. My passion is pursuing the Father's heart in Christ and giving it away to others. My favorite pastime is being iconoclastic and trailblazing the depths of God's grace. I'm also senior pastor of Cornerstone Church in Wisconsin.
This entry was posted in Worship and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to In over my head | We Will Not Be Shaken

  1. secretangel says:

    Beautiful!! Love the song!

    • Mel Wild says:

      Yes, it is. And it so beautifully describes a heart abandoned to God’s overwhelming love. Hopefully, you can see the whole concert. It’s available until tonight I believe. They have two of my favorite worship songwriters, Jonathan and Melissa Helser, with them singing one of their songs on it too. A lot of good songs on this album. Blessings.

  2. Wow, wow, wow. Glorious love and wholly abandoned anticipation of God’s grace and abiding Spirit. Thank you for sharing this, Mel. “Beautifully in over my head.” ❤

    • Mel Wild says:

      You’re welcome, Susan. I immediately loved this album. What an awesome place to be…beautifully in over our heads in His glorious love. Yes and amen!

  3. Cindy Powell says:

    Love this! Saw the video a day or two ago … can’t wait for the whole CD to be released in a week or two. Especially love the lyrics to the song you’ve posted …”I’ve lost control but I’m free” – that about sums it up, doesn’t it? So amazingly grateful to be in WAY over my head! Blessings to you, Mel 🙂

    • Mel Wild says:

      Yes, lost control but free about sums it up. 🙂 Sounds like a great CD. I will definitely be getting it too. Jonathan and Melissa Helser are guest artists and do a song. As you can probably tell from this blog, they are my two favorite song writers. Many overwhelming blessings to you too!

  4. My favorite of the album is “No Longer Slaves” by Jonathan David & Melissa Helser

  5. Benson says:

    This song speaks life to my soul. I just takes me in another realm whenever I listen and sing along.

  6. Mesquita says:

    i love that song, cause make me feel closer from God.

Leave a Reply

