Coming out of hiding

Undoing Steffany (Frizzell) Gretzinger’s album, The Undoing, is one of my latest favorites. I’ve included a song from it that I think is an appropriate ending to this week’s theme.

This album is prophetic. It’s got Papa’s fingerprints all over it. He is wooing us and calling us to come out of our hiding behind serving Him from a distance for the unbridled intimacy and communion of living inside of His love.

You have been invited into this sacred place. Won’t you come?

What hinders love? Is it not the fear we’re still holding on to? To this, His voice resonates deep within, penetrating every fear…

Just let go…come out from the prison of shame and alienation that your “bull and goat” offering prayers for sin and failure have locked you in…simply come to Me.
I don’t need your offerings, I only want your heart.

Many of us have finally surrendered our hearts. But not just to Him…to this undoing as He shines His light in the innermost part of us. And as we do, the lies we’ve believed about Him and about ourselves are dissolving in His warm embrace. It’s a most wondrous thing.

I will be heading out of town tomorrow and will be back in the middle of the week. For now, let this beautiful overture of Love minister to the deepest part of your soul. Hear Him sing over you…

You’re almost home now
Please don’t quit now
You’re almost home to me

Out of Hiding
By Amanda Cook and Steffany Gretzinger

Come out of hiding, you’re safe here with Me
There’s no need to cover what I already see
You’ve got your reasons, but I hold your peace
You’ve been on lockdown and I hold your key

‘Cause I loved you before you knew what was love
I saw it all, still I chose the cross
You were the one that I was thinking of
When I rose from the grave
Now rid of the shackles, My victory’s yours
I tore the veil for you to come close
There’s no reason to stand at a distance anymore
You’re not far from home

I’ll be your lighthouse when you’re lost at sea
I will illuminate everything
No need to be frightened by intimacy
Just throw off your fear and come running to me

Oh as you run, what hindered love
Will only become part of the story

Baby, you’re almost home now
Please don’t quit now
You’re almost home to me

© 2014 Bethel Music Publishing
CCLI Song #7029057

About Mel Wild

God's favorite (and so are you), a son and a father, happily married to the same beautiful woman for 36 years. We have three incredible adult children. My passion is pursuing the Father's heart in Christ and giving it away to others. My favorite pastime is being iconoclastic and trailblazing the depths of God's grace. I'm also senior pastor of Cornerstone Church in Wisconsin.
This entry was posted in Father Heart of God, Worship and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Coming out of hiding

  1. Heidi Viars says:

    This is an amazing song. It reminds me of a dream I had several months ago. In my dream I was walking through a house, passing several rooms. In one room a man sat on the floor. As I passed the door, He looked at me and stood up. His eyes pierced through me and I immediately felt in my heart he knew everything about me, everything I had ever done, every thought I had ever had. I felt naked and exposed. But then, through his eyes, I sensed he desired me to be with him. At that moment I felt a love I had never EVER felt before in my life. I remember waking up and not wanting to, not wanting to have that love leave me. As I opened my eyes, I asked God to let me sense His love for a while longer, but the sense dissipated, like if one poured a glass of water into sand.
    I don’t dream spiritual things very often, but this I know was a message from God and a tiny glimpse of His love for us. It has compelled me so many times to move ahead in a difficult situation, and not only moved me to love better, but to hold on and persevere, KNOWING that I will experience this love for eternity to come.
    Thanks for sharing this with us, Mel! It’s beautiful and a wonderful reminder of the Agape Love of our Father to us.
    Blessings!

    • Mel Wild says:

      You’re welcome, Heidi. The whole album is like this. And what an amazing dream you had! I know exactly what you mean. It’s a love that haunts your soul. It defines unconditional love. You’re never the same again and never satisfied with anything less. And that’s exactly how God woos us out of our fears to receive a love we never even knew could exist. It’s too good to be true. But it is! Thanks for sharing your dream. May it be a launching pad for many more times in the Father’s embrace in the future. 🙂

  2. Thank you for this beautiful post.

Leave a Reply

