Jesus’ New Year’s resolution

Beloved-HeartStarting a new year always gives us a sense of new beginnings. No matter what the year before was like, we can start afresh, set new goals, dream new dreams, even chart a new course. We call these New Year’s resolutions.

We often give up on or forget about these commitments within a few weeks….maybe even a few days.

But did you know that Jesus also has a New Year’s resolution?

Actually it’s the same resolution…every new year, every new day and every new moment of every new day. And He never forgets or gives up on His dedication to it.

On this one thing He is resolute and unwavering. He never changes His mind, never stops and is forever fixated here.

Do you know what it is?

It’s to never stop loving you.

That’s right. His totally arbitrary decision and conclusion on the matter, which He made before you ever were, and whether you will ever reciprocate or not, is to relentlessly love you with all of HIS heart, with all of HIS soul, with all of HIS mind and with all of HIS strength.

The Creator of the Universe who holds everything together, and by which all things consist, is resolved to forever love you intimately, unconditionally and most completely. There’s no one who could ever love you more deeply or more quantitatively.

This is His song…and it’s always on repeat.

You’re My beloved. Lover I’m yours…

As we start this new year, let us resolve to fix our eyes on the One whose eyes are always and forever fixed on us. He has the only key that will ever unlock our fullest heart, for He is that key.

I have included a favorite Tenth Avenue North song of mine called, “Beloved.” I think this song describes Jesus’ resolution about you perfectly. Will you take less than five minutes from your busy life to stop and look deep into His eyes? For there you will find what you need.

You are SO loved.


Video by Joanna Johnson
Officical YouTube video by Tenth Avenue North found here

Beloved
Written by Mike Donehey

Love of my life
Look deep in my eyes
There you will find what you need
Give me your life
Lust and the lies
The past you’re afraid I might see
You’ve been running away from me

You’re my beloved
Lover I’m yours
Death shall not part us
It’s you I died for
For better or worse
Forever we’ll be
Our Love it unites us
It binds you to me
It’s a mystery

Love of my life
Look deep in my eyes
There you will find what you need
I’am the giver of life
I’ll clothe you in white
My immaculate bride you will be
Oh come running home to me

You’re my beloved
Lover I’m yours
Death shall not part us
It’s you I died for
For better or worse
Forever we’ll be
Our Love it unites us
It binds you to me

Well you’ve been a mistress, my wife
Chasing lovers it won’t satisfy
Won’t you let me make you my bride
You will drink of my lips
And you’ll taste new life

Cause you’re my beloved
Lover I’m yours
Death shall not part us
It’s you I died for
For better or worse
Forever we’ll be
Our Love it unites us
& it binds you to me

You’re my beloved
Forever we’ll be
Our love it unites us
And it binds you to me
It’s a mystery
It’s a mystery

© 2009 Formerly Music (Admin. by Sony/ATV Music Publishing)
Sony/ATV Timber Publishing (Admin. by Sony/ATV Music Publishing)
West Main Music (Admin. by Sony/ATV Music Publishing)
CCLI #5539286

About Mel Wild

God's favorite (and so are you), a son and a father, happily married to the same beautiful woman for 36 years. We have three incredible adult children. My passion is pursuing the Father's heart in Christ and giving it away to others. My favorite pastime is being iconoclastic and trailblazing the depths of God's grace. I'm also senior pastor of Cornerstone Church in Wisconsin.
This entry was posted in Love, Worship and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Jesus’ New Year’s resolution

  1. Love is what the world hungers for. Christ is Who the world longs for, whether it knows or not.

    • Mel Wild says:

      Amen, Anna. You said it all right there! And if we would just let Him love us completely, they would see it and Him in us. Thanks for your comments. Blessings to you.

  2. Cindy Powell says:

    Beautiful. Last true New Year’s resolution I made was many years ago when I resolved to fall more in love with Him every year. It’s been an easy one to keep since my desire was merely an echo of His own. Happy New Year, Mel. It’s going to be a good one :-).

    • Mel Wild says:

      Amen. It’s an easy one to keep because all it takes is living in His love. Happy New Year to you also, Cindy. I agree, it will be a good one.

Leave a Reply

