Taking care of Father’s house

Fathers_houseToday, I want to go in a different direction but I assure you it’s very relevant to this blog. I want to talk about the physical aspect of our Father’s house.

Of course, I’m talking about your body. For you are Father’s house–His dwelling place, His home and temple on this earth (John 14:23; 1 Cor.3:16; 6:19; Heb.3:6). When you first believed, He came to dwell in your house–to find a resting place in you.

So it should follow that we take good care of His house. The first priority is in spirit, then our soul, but also our body.

There are several reasons to be in good health, but the main one is so that we function at our highest possible level and be able to do the things we were called to do.

It’s unfortunate that this subject is not seen as a spiritual matter. Because it is. For your spiritual health and the health of your soul are very much affected by your physical health.

This is why John prays for us this way (bold-text added for emphasis)…

“Beloved, I pray
that you may prosper in all things
and be in health,
just as your soul prospers.” 3 John 1:2

Maureen and I have never been exercise junkies. We don’t jog, we don’t have an membership at the local health club. And everything we’ve tried didn’t seem to work, or it didn’t last. But, over the last few years, we have started eating mostly organic whole foods and taking regular walks. And we live in a quaint old town that is awesome to take walks in. So, early every morning we go on our 45-minute adventure together.

Here are some pictures I took of our usual routes with my phone.

First, we take some out of the way back streets…Walk01Walk02bWalk02Making our way to the river (my favorite part)…Walk03Walk04Walk05Then, a little bit through town…Walk06Walk07Walk08

Walk10Finally back home. We end up here on our back patio with a homemade smoothie and, of course, coffee… ๐Ÿ™‚

So, like I said, we’ve been at this routine for a while, but then this summer we decided to kick it up a notch.

First, we went on Dr. Jonny Bowden’s “New You in 22” metabolic transformation program. This diet is not like others. It’s designed to change your metabolism from sugar-burning (which is most people’s metabolism today) to fat-burning (which is the way humans lived for thousands of years) in 22 days. You can click on the link if you want more information. It’s actually worth investigating.

The food is very similar to a Paleo diet with minor variations. We eat all organic, high protein, (good) fats, and very low carbohydrates. If you’re like me and like steak (with the bone and all the fat), pot roasts, chicken (cooked with the skin), pork roast and other meats, you can eat LOTS of it with this program. ๐Ÿ™‚ But we also eat lots of good veggies and fruit (locally grown when in season).

Actually, like with a lot of spiritual things, it’s all counter-intuitive. For instance, if you want to burn more fat, you INCREASE your fat intake! (I’m not kidding, check it out.)

The important thing I want to relay about this is that it was an eating lifestyle change for us, not just a temporary diet. I will never go back to the steady diet of unhealthy, processed food I was eating before.

After we did the 22-day metabolic transformation, we started an exercise program from Dr. Jade Teta called, “Metabolic Aftershock.” This is an “at your own pace” metabolic fat-burning exercise program. It’s the best I’ve ever seen, and you get more results in 15 minutes that I used to get exercising for an hour! And he tells you how to work around injuries and physical limitations (I have a bad knee). Again, you can go to link for more information.

Why am I sharing what we’re doing? Because I’m pretty sure there are a lot of you that are like me. Not real motivated to exercise and eat right…and you’re too busy to spend hours in a gym. Well, this works for me! I have to honestly say, I love it! And it only takes my 58 year old body 45 minutes a day (15 min. exercise-30 min. walk). It easily fits my schedule.

And since we’ve been doing this, not only have we both lost weight (I’ve lost 26 pounds since the beginning of the year), but we feel a LOT better, sleep better, no more brain fog or lethargy, more lasting energy (no carb crashes!), we think more clearly, get more done and do it with more physical stamina. I personally have less problems with allergies now…and the list goes on.

Besides, I LOVE the food we eat, everything is delicious (none of this no-fat, no taste nonsense!) I haven’t felt this good and had this much energy in years.

So, while the most important thing is your spiritual health, don’t forget your physical health. Put down the junk food and eat something healthy instead. You will actually develop a taste for only healthy foods. Get outside and take a walk. You won’t regret it, you’ll enjoy it, you’ll feel better, live longer and have more freedom. God designed our body to do amazing things and take us on great adventures in Him…if we will just give it the things it needs to run properly.

About Mel Wild

God's favorite (and so are you), a son and a father, happily married to the same beautiful woman for 36 years. We have three incredible adult children. My passion is pursuing the Father's heart in Christ and giving it away to others. My favorite pastime is being iconoclastic and trailblazing the depths of God's grace. I'm also senior pastor of Cornerstone Church in Wisconsin.
This entry was posted in Freedom and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Taking care of Father’s house

  1. dcummuta says:

    Reblogged this on The Life of Living Above and commented:
    A topic that is avoided and dismissed in the Church today! Go check out Mel’s wonderfully said blog on the topic of taking care of ourselves. Check out his other stuff too. There’s loads of great revelation there. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Michael says:

    Congratulations on your success. And the town does look right folksy!

    • Mel Wild says:

      Ha…yeah, the average house is 100 years old or older. It’s kind of a Hobbiton kind of town. ๐Ÿ™‚ And after having lived in Chicago for several years, we love the change of pace.

  3. TK says:

    I too wish more people saw the spiritual side of health. It’s so important. I remember my uncle working with a journalist for a Catholic newspaper on the subject (my uncle is a Catholic priest). He saw the need, but quickly went back to his old eating habits. It can be so hard to really stick to something.

    This is one of the things I love about my Chiropractor. He’s always saying how we were given this amazing body that has the ability to heal and overcome. We need only to give it the building blocks it needs.

    • Mel Wild says:

      I totally understand on the going back to old eating habits. I did the same many times over the years. And I think this is why most diets don’t work for people. We are forced to eat restrictive foods that either don’t satisfy us or are specialized meals you have to buy from the creator of the diet. They also demand a radical change in lifestyle. But if you can find foods that you really like, can be found anywhere (including most restaurants), and are also healthy, you can change your eating habits and stick with it.

      For instance, I happen to like meat so a paleo-type diet works for me. But a vegan could just as easily find healthy unprocessed foods high in fat and protein and reduce their sugar intake as well. So the key is finding what works for you. Then it’s just a matter of developing new habits. If you really like the food, you’ll more likely stick with it. Of course, amazing health improvements won’t hurt either. ๐Ÿ™‚

      And your Chiropractor is absolutely right. For instance, there has been cases of cancer being healed simply through fasting. As I said before, a lot of our ailments are diet and stress related. The human body was designed to miraculously heal itself if given the right fuel and even moderate exercise.

      • TK says:

        Yep, I’ve heard a lot of things about nutrition curing even stage four cancers. I recommend reading The China Study. It’s one of the most comprehensive books on nutrition I have ever read. It just turns everything about the modern food pyramid and medical industry on its head. That isn’t to say it shouldn’t be approached with a certain amount of skepticism, but I think you’d find it an interesting companion to the other things you’re doing for your health.

  4. Great post Mel! I KNOW that my journey of healing from depression was in large part due to the fact that I have always been an ‘exercise junkie’ and we eat mostly organic. On the seldom days when we don’t eat so well or miss a training session, I feel I cannot hear the Holy Spirit as clearly much less be bothered to listen ;-). Thank you for sharing!

    • Mel Wild says:

      That’s a great testimony. A lot of our issues are actually hormonal, which healthy foods and the right amount of exercise can help bring into balance. All of these things affect our sense of well-being.

  5. Awesome! This makes me want to relive my younger and fitter days:) Thanks Mel, you have given me yet another reason to stop making excuses!

    • Mel Wild says:

      That’s great, Stephen. I can’t say enough about how glad I am that I stopped procrastinating myself. I love the routine we’re on. Much grace to you to be able to do and really enjoy your new adventure. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Cindy Powell says:

    This is good, Mel. I was already mediatating on the verse you referenced and asking the Lord to show me what will work for me at this stage of life that can be, as you’ve noted, a maintainable lifestyle and not a short-term diet. Haven’t hit on the right combo yet, but still believing I will, because I NEED to. I’m in the same age bracket and I miss my old energy. Hard to go galavanting around the globe (as I’m prone to do) when you don’t feel your best! I will check out the links you’ve provided. Thanks! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Mel Wild says:

      Yeah, you can only go where you’re body will take you. Of all the health/fitness ideas we’ve tried in the past, this is the only one that worked for us. But you do have to find what works for you. Hopefully, this will work, or at least get you on the right track. If you don’t get the programs, do the research to know how food affects your metabolism and hormones, which is way more important than counting calories. But we pretty much followed the program to the letter.

      But a warning, just like any detox, the first few days in the 22-day period you actually have less energy. Your body’s being weaned from it’s sugar addiction (sugar and artificial sweeteners are in practically everything most people eat and drink) and getting rid of all the toxins from the processed foods. But after that, you feel great and never want to go back. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Amen Mel! There is a huge emphasis on taking care of ourselves spiritually but sometimes we forget that one of the best way to do that is by taking care of our bodies. There are so many spiritual benefits from living a healthy lifestyle! We shouldn’t center our life around our bodies but we also shouldn’t neglect taking good care of them, because the healthier we are, the more time and energy we’ll have in this world to fulfill God’s purpose for our lives!

    • Mel Wild says:

      Yes, one affects the other. You can’t separate the physical from spiritual. And you can get a lot more done when you’re actually able to do it! Blessings.

Leave a Reply

