Beloved

BelovedOur relationship with Christ should be seen like a marriage between two people who are deeply in love with each other.  It was not born in a cold court room and it’s not based on a prenuptial contract.

For they didn’t fall in love based on a legal agreement. Yet, so many of God’s beloved live like this is so.

Let me ask you, would a loving husband give his wife a list of rules to follow or else she will be tortured and beaten?

And what would you normally call a husband who behaved this way?

Yet, so many live in fear of this very thing if they mess up their heavenly marriage.

And would I want my relationship with my Beloved only based on what I’ve been told by others? Would I want to relate to my spouse by studying all about her in books, listening to others talk about her, but never intimately knowing her? I hardly think so!

This is how the religious Pharisees wanted to relate to God. With their commentaries and endless theological debates. They looked for Truth and Life in their doctrines instead of a Person (John 5:39; 14:6).

So much is the same today, sadly.

Furthermore, would a wife who only does her duty, whose relationship is only based on serving her husband, be thought to be a loving wife? Again, hardly so.

But it seems to me that this is exactly how many Christians want to relate to God–by trying to serve Him rather than know Him and live His life.

Here’s the thing. Jesus told us we are no longer servants but friends…

“No longer do I call you servants,
for a servant does not know what his master is doing;
but I have called you friends,
for all things that I heard from My Father
I have made known to you.” (John 15:15 NKJV)

Furthermore, Paul said that we are no longer slaves but sons, even heirs…

“Therefore you are no longer a slave but a son,
and if a son, then an heir
of God through Christ.” (Gal.4:7 NKJV)

You see, in your relationship with God, you cannot be His bride and His servant. And you cannot be a slave and a son and co-heir with Christ. You are either one or the other.

But not knowing this is why we have so many blood-bought royal sons and daughters living like beggars under a bridge. Beloved, you are royalty; you were meant to reign in this life, on this earth, not live like a pauper (1 Pet.2:9; Rev.5:10).

The truth is , we are to reign in this life as co-heirs with Christ and serve our fellow man through Christ (Rom.5:17; 1 Pet.4:10).

So we reign by serving our fellow man, revealing the Father’s heart and partnering with Him as this royal son/daughter, bringing His heavenly kingdom to this earth.

This is who you are, beloved. Don’t let anyone defraud you with philosophies and religious traditions of men that cannot transform anyone (Col.2:8-10, 20-23).

Maybe you think having faith is the most important thing. But did we forget that our faith works on love? (Gal.5:6)

And did we forget that without love not only our faith but all of our spiritual gifts, even our sacrificial service, amounts to nothing? (1 Cor.13:1-3)

Another thing while we’re here…we seem to think the highest form of relating to God is “surrendering all.” But is it? I think Steve McVey hit the nail on the head when he said that we must do more than just “surrender all.”

“We are Christ’s bride, not His hostage. I’m not suggesting that it isn’t important to surrender ourselves totally to God, but He wants more than that. Nobody wants a frigid bride. Every groom wants his bride to eagerly desire him, not just “surrender all” to him.” (Grace Walk – p.122-123)

Beloved, the following is the poetic overture of God, how He truly sees you. Does this sound like the language of a distant and exacting taskmaster?

“You have ravished my heart,
My sister, my spouse;
You have ravished my heart
With one look of your eyes,
With one link of your necklace.” (Songs 4:9 NKJV)

You see,  our relationship with Christ is based on love…and only love. Not duty, not serving, not all the people we save…not even obeying commandments, for we do what He says because we love Him.

Beloved, this is at the heart of all true romance, all intimacy, where all the deepest longings of the human heart resonate–the whole of the Christian life. We first receive His love, then return it back to Him–and we live and move and have our being from this place. This is what Jesus told us to do (bold-text added for emphasis). For we are His beloved and He is ours.

“As the Father loved Me,
I also have loved you;
abide in My love.” John 15:9 NKJV

 

Original photo Credit: © Chorniymax | Dreamstime.comWedding Couple Photo
About Mel Wild

God's favorite (and so are you), a son and a father, happily married to the same beautiful woman for 36 years. We have three incredible adult children. My passion is pursuing the Father's heart in Christ and giving it away to others. My favorite pastime is being iconoclastic and trailblazing the depths of God's grace. I'm also senior pastor of Cornerstone Church in Wisconsin.
This entry was posted in Love and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Beloved

  1. This is a great truth that many should hear. Thank you for laying it out so well.

  2. Michael says:

    I really mean it when I say that your words have been part of a a true gospel revival in me over the last two years. Thanks for constantly provoking us to abide in the Father’s love.

    • Mel Wild says:

      And thank you for your encouraging words here, Mike. I’m so glad to be a blessing and share His overwhelming love and grace with my inadequate words. 🙂

  3. Ayanda says:

    Thank you Mel for the reminder. I forgot about this for a moment and the result was fear and burden. So thank you for reminding me to constantly shed the orphan/widow mentality and approach when partnering with Christ, and to be driven by my love for Him, that is a much easier walk.

    • Mel Wild says:

      Awesome, Ayanda. Yes, HIS yoke is so easy. And there’s freedom and joy in His presence. That’s how you know you’re in the right frame of mind.

      God is actually transforming you, making you fully His in your experience. The process is in changing our thinking, not in who we really are. For we are already complete in Him (Col.2:10). But the reality is, we all forget and slip back to old thinking patterns. That’s why we need to remind each other and encourage one another in the Lord. I’m so glad that I can be part of that encouragement for you.

      Blessings to you. You are profoundly loved. 🙂

  4. Cindy Powell says:

    “We first receive His love, then return it back to Him–and we live and move and have our being from this place. This is what Jesus told us to do . For we are His beloved and He is ours.” Yes and amen. Music to my lovesick soul. So pure, so simple, so good–and SO available. I, for one, am so very, very glad He made it so simple. Thanks, as always, for pointing our hearts to His. Blessings 🙂

    • Mel Wild says:

      Amen. It’s the simplicity of our life in Christ. Everything else emanates from there. For our life IS His life! Thanks for your affirming comments, as always. 🙂

  5. gahihgi says:

    This is the kinda stuff that ruins me or rather as I read someone say before my ears are ruined to anything contrary to the gospel. I guess I have to give up wanting to argue and let God deal with it not that I’d argue with highly respected teachers but to hear them argue against these things breaks my heart.

    • Mel Wild says:

      Yes, and it’s a good ruination. 🙂 It is sad that respected teachers expend so much energy arguing over differences in non-essential things. But when our focus is on abiding in His affections for us, we have true unity (John 17:21-26). Blessings to you.

    • gahihgi says:

      Also wanted to thank you for what you said about faith. I didn’t realize that was also included in I Cor 13. how all the faith in the world amounts to nothing without love. It’s funny I’ve studied that chapter and didn’t truly notice that before. It was like it didn’t apply to me not that I had mountain moving faith but it was something I worried about not realizing our Father had already taken care of it.

    • Mel Wild says:

      Yes, again, our faith works through love (Gal.5:6). And it’s amazing how much faith you can have when you know you’re loved and accepted and feel such love for Him in return.

  6. TK says:

    Well said. I wish more people would listen to these words

    You know what’s funny to me? Nine times out of 10, I nod along as I read your blogs. I can’t help but think anyone would nod along and agree. But I wonder, would all the people who agree with this get along or our we reading your posts like the bible, reaching out own interpretation?

    • Mel Wild says:

      You make a good point, TK. We do tend to make our own interpretations. But God is first, and foremost, relational. He was a Father in relationship with a Son in eternity, long before anything else we can interpret about Him. This is why relationship cannot be based on agreement, or seeing things exactly the same. Actually, I think God designed us to see things differently. Again, diversity not division. And a lot of our interpretations of the Bible are really differences in perspectives. While there is objective right and wrong, we’re all right and wrong somewhere. I think God allows for that. This is why Jesus said the world would know we are His by our love for one another, not by our flawless interpretations.

      The exact same thing can be said about marriages or any intimate relationship. It must be based on love, intimacy, understanding one another, on not having to be right.. All healthy relationships find their pattern from this “Divine Dance” we see between the Father and the Son. Hope that made sense! 🙂

Leave a Reply

