Everything you’re looking for is found in the Father’s love

???????????I’ve been wanting my wife, Maureen, to write something brilliant for my blog (which all of her stuff is radical and brilliant), but she’s been busy with other projects, so I thought I would give you an example of what she has to say on an audio clip.

This clip comes during our worship time a couple of Sundays ago.

As we normally do during worship, people will give prophetic words or words of encouragement.  Maureen shares her thoughts about the story of the prodigal son and elder brother and their relationship with their father (Luke 15:11-32).

Keep in mind, other than editing for length, this is a transcript as it was spoken rather than something written out, revised and polished. I will just share an excerpt here.  The whole thing is on the audio clip below…

Maureen_train“Neither one of them [prodigal son or elder brother] understood the father. Do you think the father suddenly became this wonderful guy that loved his sons so much? He was always that wonderful father and they never got it….

…Everything the father had was there. All of the love that the Father had. And the prodigal son that came home saw it first….

He finally recognized, father! I’m going home to my father!

And he got home, and he provoked his brother to jealousy.Why? Because he connected with His father. He finally connected with his father.

And his father said, “I’m here for you, I welcome you back. I don’t care what you’ve done…I don’t even want to hear about it. I want to just party, because you’re here and I love you.

And he provoked his brother to jealousy. And he said, “I’m mad. I’m this great son who always stayed.”

And the father said, “Wait a minute. You’ve been here all this time you didn’t recognize what you had. You didn’t love me like you could have. You didn’t get everything I have because it comes in the loving relationship.

It doesn’t come in the money, the wealth, the fame, the glory, anything else. It comes in the relationship. And when you recognize it and you can say, “Father! I’m going back to my Father! That’s when you’re going to get it. That’s when you’re going to get everything.

And so, I think God wants to tell us today, come back to the Father. Don’t worry about all the other stuff….He’s the One who does it. He puts us in Jesus, He puts us in Himself. He brings us into that relationship, He puts us in the Spirit. So, it’s all Him! That’s what we have to recognize, that we have to just come back to Him.”

Beloved, you not only have a heavenly Father who has everything and He’s given it all to you (Luke 12:32; 15:31), but He’s the most affectionate Person you’ll ever know.

Yes, He is the epitome of strength and might and everything else glorious and good, but He is also the epitome of pure, unconditional, unbridled love. Everything is found in that place when our hearts connect with Him!

JoyAnd here’s a picture of worship I would like to paint for you. Worship should be seen like a little child standing on his or her Daddy’s feet and dancing around the floor, both giggling and laughing as they sway around. And I don’t mean this in a disrespectful way, but it’s the best picture I could give to describe the freedom I’ve found in my Father’ embrace. This is what fullness of joy feels like when we know we’re radically loved and fully accepted.

And when we finally connect with this Father we can’t help but be filled with His love from the tip of our toes to the top of our head! And this is truly how people are going to know that we are His.

And that brings me to the second-half of this clip. After Maureen’s word, one of our worship leaders, Arleena, led us into a spontaneous song (originally by Steffany Frizzell-Gretzinger), finishing with the chorus of “How Great is Our God” (Chris Tomlin). The words to this simple chorus are below. It became an anthem for us because it says it all.

I hope you will take some time right now to get up on Papa’s feet and dance–or just jump in His big, big lap–and abandon yourself in His warm embrace. Don’t worry about all the other stuff. This is what you’re really looking for; this is what you need.

Everybody sing…

From the tip of my toes
To the top of my head
They’re gonna know I love You
From the tip of my toes
To the top of my head
They’re gonna know I’m Yours

AUDIO: (exhortation-song)

About Mel Wild

God's favorite (and so are you), a son and a father, happily married to the same beautiful woman for 36 years. We have three incredible adult children. My passion is pursuing the Father's heart in Christ and giving it away to others. My favorite pastime is being iconoclastic and trailblazing the depths of God's grace. I'm also senior pastor of Cornerstone Church in Wisconsin.
This entry was posted in Father Heart of God, Love, Sonship, Worship and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Everything you’re looking for is found in the Father’s love

  1. Michael says:

    “It comes in the relationship.” So good…just wrote about that! Thanks for sharing, Mel.

  2. Great job Maureen. Infectious passionate song… Love it, love it!!! Wow, it’ll be fun to be with you again on June 22.

    • Mel Wild says:

      Thanks Mark. I will pass this on to Maureen. I’m going to get her to actually write an article one of these days. We SO look forward to seeing you and Debbie again. It will be an awesome time together again on the “dance floor” with Papa!

  3. Maureen is spot on, Mel – “Everything the father had was there. All of the love that the Father had.” We seem to think our Father’s love waivers with our own human emotions. If only we would recognize the importance of our relationship with Him – as Mary of Bethany did – we might begin to see ourselves through His eyes. Unconditionally loved.

    • Mel Wild says:

      Amen, Susan. Living from His unconditional affection is what will show the world we are His, rightly representing His heart to the world around us. For God “so loved”….not “so judged” the world! We need to leave our orphan heart, full of fear, rejection and feelings of separation and believe His overture of love and acceptance toward us. And I love what Heidi Baker said about it, “Lovers get more done than workers.”

      I will pass on your kudos to Maureen. Much appreciated. 🙂

  4. Andy Oldham says:

    I love this version if the prodigal son. I also love that you have pointed out the way we should connect with the Father. Blessings!

  5. schroera says:

    So often we fail to appreciate our Father’s love for us. I just wrote an article about that myself. If you have a chance, check it out: http://364daysofthanksgiving.com/son-god/
    I would love to hear any thoughts you might have. Thanks!

  6. Pingback: Will you dance? | In My Father's House

  7. Fern Owens says:

    What a wonderful take on this story which I had never heard before. Neither one of the sons connected with their father, so they both lived as orphans. So world continues to wait for the revealing of the sons and daughters of God, the ones who know they are radically loved and unconditionally accepted.

Leave a Reply

