Forever | Kari Jobe & Bethel

YouMakeMeBraveEvery once in a while something wonderful happens. You have one of the best possible written worship songs, sung by one of the best possible worship leaders and accompanied by one of the best possible worship groups.

And when this happens in space and time, something resonates between heaven and earth. It seems like a portal opens up and God’s radiant glory floods His creation. 

Angels join in the heavenly anthem–demons can only run and hide in utter shame and despair. But God’s people rise up and shine forth like brilliant reflected light shining from God’s Throne, like the sunrise on majestic mountain peaks–all swirling together upward into into the eternal Divine Dance of the Godhead.  The earth echoes this heavenly sound and rejoices.

I think this this is one of those songs.

I invite you to take some some time to listen…better yet…open your heart wide and engage in this song. Let your spirit soar…join the heavenly chorus with everything in your being. Let your praises ring out and go up as heaven comes streaming down!

The power of hell is forever broken!

His perfect reckless love could not be overcome

Now death where is your sting?

Our resurrected King has rendered you defeated

He is alive forevermore!

Beloved, that means…you are alive forevermore! It’s time to get happy! Lift up a shout!

Forever
By Brian Johnson | Christa Black Gifford | Gabriel Wilson | Jenn Johnson | Joel Taylor | Kari Jobe

© 2013 Bethel Music (Admin. by Bethel Music Publishing)
KAJE Songs (Admin. by EMI Christian Music Publishing)
Worship Together Music (Admin. by EMI Christian Music Publishing)

Sung by Kari Jobe
From “You Make Me Brave” Album Bethel Music

The moon and stars they wept
The morning sun was dead
The Savior of the world was fallen
His body on the cross
His blood poured out for us
The weight of every curse upon Him

One final breath He gave
As heaven looked away
The Son of God was laid in darkness
A battle in the grave
The war on death was waged
The power of hell forever broken

The ground began to shake
The stone was rolled away
His (perfect) (reckless) love could not be overcome
Now death where is your sting
Our resurrected King has rendered you defeated

Now forever He is glorified
Forever He is lifted high
And forever He is risen
He is alive and He is alive

We sing hallelujah we sing hallelujah
We sing hallelujah the Lamb has overcome

We sing hallelujah we sing hallelujah
We sing hallelujah

And now death where is your sting
Our resurrected King has overcome
He’s overcome oh

CCLI Song # 7001228

About Mel Wild

God's favorite (and so are you), a son and a father, happily married to the same beautiful woman for 36 years. We have three incredible adult children. My passion is pursuing the Father's heart in Christ and giving it away to others. My favorite pastime is being iconoclastic and trailblazing the depths of God's grace. I'm also senior pastor of Cornerstone Church in Wisconsin.
This entry was posted in Worship and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Forever | Kari Jobe & Bethel

  1. Cindy Powell says:

    Ha ha – this is so funny. I have my iphone phone on as I was taking a minute to scroll thru the many posts I’m behind on reading and this song came on just as this post popped up 🙂 I’m glad someone else likes it as much as I do! I waiting a long time for this CD to come out. My daughter-in-law and I were there when it was recorded (at. Bethel’s women’s conference last August). When she sang “the ground began to shake” it really did! We sing hallelujah – the Lamb has overcome!

    • Mel Wild says:

      That’s awesome. You really get that even from the recording. Btw, I used Jenn Johnson’s spontaneous song “The Joy of the Lord” and a couple of others for background music for a “mom tunnel” (aka: “fire tunnel”) we had yesterday! I love doing those things. The moms were so blessed. 🙂

      I also love those moments that are recorded and you get to hear them again. I happened to be at the Jesus Culture Awakening in Chicago with some of our young adults in 2012. Wasn’t planning on it but was given free tickets. Glad I went! Now, every time I hear those songs it brings me back there. One specific “encounter in time” was when about 15,000 people in the Allstate Arena erupted in spontaneous praise that lasted for about 20 minutes! But there was something supernatural about it. A standing ovation for Jesus that got a life of its own, wave after wave going out. We were on the balcony and thought it would come down any moment from the shaking! Still get goosebumps thinking about it. Bill Johnson commented afterward that he had never been in anything like that (now that’s saying a lot!). I think it’s in those moments that heaven tattoos you on the inside. 🙂

    • Cindy Powell says:

      A “mom tunnel”? Ahhhhh – I would SO hang out at your church if it was closer!!! That is awesome! And yes, know what you mean about songs bringing you back to a moment of encounter. The times of worship at that conference were truly amazing. I honestly don’t remember a lot of the content of the teaching from that week, but I will never forget those moments in His presence. Truly eternal moments.

      BTW, note to self: Do NOT attempt to type on phone without glasses ever again. “Iphone phone”? and “I waiting” –sheesh! Yes sireee I got me some good grammar! 🙂

    • Mel Wild says:

      Yeah, the mom tunnel is a favorite. We have the kids line up on both sides first, then all the young guys, fathers and husbands. The moms go through this long gauntlet, getting lots of prayers and blessing. 🙂 Lots of tears of joy and even deliverance and healing. Last year, we had a lady visit our church who had just found out her husband was having an affair the day before. She was so broken. She decided to go through the line. I remember she was crying the whole time. At the end, she was delivered from a spirit of rejection and depression. She’s never been the same and has been coming ever since. She gave her testimony a few weeks ago. God is so….good!

      And I totally understand on the typo’s. I use Swype on my phone and I’ve had some interesting interpretations of what I’ve wanted to say that were sent out, to say the least. 🙂

  2. Planting Potatoes says:

    such a wonderful song…makes me want to sing to God in praise, thanks so much for sharing! Perhaps the single most important question of all time is: death, where is your sting? God bless!

  3. Pingback: The Father did NOT abandon Jesus | In My Father's House

Leave a Reply

