What’s revealed about Christ for you belongs to you

Jesus-10In my last post, I looked at how we progressively see our true selves in Christ from “glory to glory” (2 Cor.3:18). But there’s another aspect of this ever increasing glory

And that’s the ever-increasing revelation of who Christ is for you.

We know from Scripture that Jesus Christ is the “expressed image” of God (Heb.1:3). But did you know that whatever is revealed to you about Him belongs to you?

God first established this principle of revelation under the Old Covenant…

“The secret things belong to the Lord our God, but those things which are revealed belong to us and to our children forever…” (Deut.29:29)

So, not only should we progressively see more of our true selves in His “Holy Spirit mirror,” we also need to see who Jesus is for us in greater glory!

If you’re a believer, you already “see” Christ for your salvation and complete forgiveness for all your sins.

That’s great, but it’s only where your eternal life in Christ begins…

What do you believe about Christ for your everyday life?

What’s actually in the name of Jesus?

There were eight names given to God that progressively revealed Him as Lord in the Old Testament. I will give the Hebrew names and meanings here.

    • Adonai Yir’eh – Lord, our provision (Gen.22:14)
    • Adonai Rapha – Lord, our healer (Exod.15:22-26)
    • Adonai Nissi – Lord, our banner, victory (Exod.17:8-15)
    • Adonai Shalom – Lord, our peace, wholeness (Judges 6:24)
    • Adonai Ro’eh – Lord, our shepherd (Psalm 23:1)
    • Adonai Tzva’ot – Lord, our stronghold, protector (Psalm 46:7)
    • Adonai Tzidkeinu – Lord, our righteousness (Jer.23:6)
    • Adonai Shamah – Lord, always present (Ezek.48:35)

And we see in the New Testament revelation that Jesus is our provision, our healer, our victory, our peace, our shepherd, our stronghold, our righteousness, and He’s always present and will never leave us nor forsake us.

The question is, do you actually believe this?

Really?

Because the opposite is also true.

You can be talked out of anything that’s not been revealed to you.

And here’s one revelation we really need. The word “Lord” means “master” or “owner.” Which means, God thinks He’s the owner and master over everything in your life, including all your circumstances and all your problems–over your today and all your tomorrows.

He actually seems to think that if you seek Him and His Kingdom first, ALL these things that you thought were so important will be added on as extras (Matt.6:33)

So why are you still clinging on to it all like it’s yours…

Okay, I understand, believe me….I’m on this journey too. And that’s why we need to come back to this progressive “glory to glory” thing. Because what we really need is revelation.

Let me give you some examples of how a revelation of what’s in the name of Jesus can transform your life forever.

Before I see Jesus as Provision, I will struggle with giving. I will worry about my job, the economy, having “enough.” But once I see His name is Provision, these are no longer issues. He is my supernatural provision.

Before I see Jesus as Healer, I won’t see many people get healed. I will try to rev up my faith and beg God to heal them. But when I see Him as Healer, I simply release the healing virtue of Christ living in me to others. And people start getting healed.

Before I see Jesus as Shalom (peace, wholeness), I will remain anxious and full of turmoil. I will still look to my circumstances for peace. I will still look to others for affirmation and act out of my woundedness and alien identities given to me by others. But once I see that His name is Peace, my fears are replaced by love. I will begin to be whole, at rest, complete in who I uniquely and wonderfully am in Him.

Before I see Jesus as Victory in every situation (2 Cor.2:14), I’ll live a defeated life by empowering the enemy’s lies. But once I see Christ is my victory, I take those lies captive and walk in freedom. The enemy no longer has any authority in my life because I’m no longer giving it to Him.

Before I see Jesus as Righteousness (2 Cor.5:21), I will still confess that I’m a dirty sinner, that “my righteousness is as filthy rags.” And I will act out that sentiment by faith! But once I see Christ is my righteousness, I will begin to walk in that reality.

Before I see Jesus as Always Present, I’ll live like I’m separated from Him. I will still pray my “orphan revival” prayers, begging Papa to come down and visit me. But once I see myself in Him, I will know I’m never without Him. I’ll walk everyday in a revival lifestyle–living from heaven to earth–letting the Father’s glory shine through me as I abide in Him.

Yes, there IS power in the name of Jesus!

So, what do you need Jesus to be for you today?

And it’s okay if you don’t get it all yet. That’s the point. He wants to reveal Himself to you from glory to glory.

But know your “problem” is not the problem.

It’s lack of revelation…

…which He’s very ready to give you.

So let’s stop looking at our circumstances and look to Him instead. In other words, take a look at the list above, see what you need and ask the Lord to reveal Himself to you in that area so that it can belong to you. Don’t stop until it’s yours.

For He really is Lord of all…and that’s really GOOD news!

About Mel Wild

God's favorite (and so are you), a son and a father, happily married to the same beautiful woman for 37 years. We have three incredible adult children. My passion is pursuing the Father's heart in Christ and giving it away to others. My favorite pastime is being iconoclastic and trailblazing the depths of God's grace. I'm also senior pastor of Cornerstone Church in Wisconsin.
This entry was posted in Identity, Sonship and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What’s revealed about Christ for you belongs to you

  1. TK says:

    This reminds me of one of my favorite quotes from a book I read. A character in the book asked an angel why you could make a deal with the devil but not with God. The angel responded “Because, when you make a deal with God, you’re really just making a deal with yourself.” Reading this, that quote makes sense. God is in us, so when we make a deal, we make it with ourselves as much as God.

    • Mel Wild says:

      Interesting angel quote and good observation. First, to clarify my position before people take me the wrong way. We’re in Christ but we are not Christ Himself. Just like Christ is in the Father but not the Father Himself, although Christ is God the Son in the Trinity. So, another distinction, we were placed in the Godhead but not God Himself (Col.2:10). I hope that makes sense. A good way to look at it is like a full water bottle. We’re the bottle and Christ is the water.They are not the same but they are always together and identified together as one item. Wherever the bottle goes, the water goes! And the ironic thing about the angel quote is, biblically speaking, angels weren’t placed in God but we were! Angels were created to serve us as the Father’s sons and daughters who have inherited salvation (Heb.1:14).

      Having said that, what you’re saying here is important. Our union with Christ is so complete that it is like “making a deal with ourselves.” For we died and our life is hidden in Christ (Col.3:3). His life is now bound up in our life. What He has now belongs to us. So the going from “glory to glory” is having the Holy Spirit progressively revealing these glorious things to us (John 16:12-15).

      Your comments appreciated, as always. Blessings.

      • marklhen says:

        Very good. I think it’s imperative to distinguish that we are not God, but at the same time our similarity and likeness to God is staggering… far beyond anything we previously thought… and we’re just now scratching the surface. This boggles the mind.

        Paul, “I want you to know this love that surpasses knowledge”… to know something that my mind will have difficulty with. So talking to my mind, “Mind, you can’t be my tour guide into the love of God. You’re too limited. God wants to take me beyond what you can understand right now.”

        What an amazing journey of discovery!

      • Mel Wild says:

        Amen! Talk about amazing! We’re learning what it means to be “filled with all the fullness of God.” (Eph.3:19). Ahhhh!!! I’m staggering now! 🙂

        Only the Holy Spirit could ever reveal it because our brain can’t even conceive it. We would just turn it into more empty religion. So I agree, we need to retire that old tour guide we’ve trusted for so long and have our brain learn from the Master Tour Guide! For we have no mental grid to even think the right thoughts. We just open up the “spicket” of our heart and hang on because He will come flooding in! Hallelujah! He’s better than we ever imagined!

        Thanks bro. Blessings.

  2. It’s so powerful when we start knowing God in a deeper way by each one of His names. We will face each day with a different attitude knowing that our healer, our provider, our victory, and our king is by our side. When we see Jesus for who He really is we can walk with unshakable faith in Him no matter what circumstances we find ourselves in. Thank you for sharing this! May we all have Christ revealed to us even more today!

    • Mel Wild says:

      Amen! And, yes, like one of the lines of an old Christian song from the 80’s, “You’ve got to get yourself a bigger picture of Jesus.” We really do! Thanks for your insights and encouraging comments, Anna. Blessings.

Leave a Reply

