Come out, come out, wherever you are…

Okay, I admit this is a bit whimsical. But it is my birthday. I’m 21,170 days old today and I thought I would have some fun. So, please indulge me.

And it’s serious fun, mind you… 🙂

I was thinking about how much of the modern evangelical church acts like such scared little bunnies hiding in our little bunny holes–fearful of this old world with all our paranoid conspiracy theories, waiting to be rescued from imminent world doom…watch out for this, be against that…

Making our overly-educated theological excuses for why God can’t do this or do that anymore… (but the devil can, apparently)

Acting like victims instead of victors in Christ, trying to crucify what Jesus already nailed to the Cross, turning the good news that should bring great joy into religious drudgery….

Ahhh!!!

The only reason I don’t get totally annoyed with it all is that it’s a bit comical in a strange way to me. In fact, I get a distinct picture in my mind.

And this gets to the whimsical me (which may give you some scary insights into the crazy way my brain works)…

Because, you know what?

This absurd scene that’s doing my head in just reminds me of the Munchkins song…actually, I think it’s a bit prophetic…  🙂

The Munchkins act a lot like us, hiding from the wicked ol’ witch…everything was all gloom and doom. But then the miracle happened…Dorothy came and slew that nasty witch for them.

So here’s an encouraging word for you today.

Come out, come out, wherever you are…we don’t have to be afraid anymore. We can come out of our hiding here in our “Munchkin land.”

Because we don’t have Dorothy–we have JESUS! He is undefeated and you are IN HIM! Ha!

So…“wake up, you sleepy head. Rub your eyes, get out of bed”

For Christ is building a VICTORIOUS CHURCH, not some scared, scrawny bunch of beggars hunkering down under a bridge, waiting for escape. Let’s stop acting like victims, empowering things in our lives that Jesus already disempowered on the Cross.

“Ding dong, the old man is DEAD!” You are free!

Listen to the Coroner sing…he’s not only really dead, he’s really most sincerely dead!

He’s killed him so completely, so let’s thank Him very sweetly…

Let us put off the grave clothes of a past that’s dead and gone, and come out into the crazy bright light of His resurrected glory.

For YOU are the “hope of glory” because HE is in living in you and radiating out of you.

Don’t you see it?
Have you not heard the good news?

“Arise and shine for your light has come! And the glory of the Lord has risen upon you!” (Isa.60:1)

Or to put in the Oz-ian vernacular…

Come out, come out, wherever you are…

Let the joyous news be spread, The Wicked Old Witch at last is dead!

Ding Dong! The Wicked Witch is dead.
Which old Witch?
The Wicked Witch!
Ding Dong! The Wicked Witch is dead.
Wake up, you sleepy head.
Rub your eyes
Get out of bed.

Have an awesome day. I know I will. You are really most sincerely loved! 

About Mel Wild

God's favorite (and so are you), a son and a father, happily married to the same beautiful woman for 36 years. We have three incredible adult children. My passion is pursuing the Father's heart in Christ and giving it away to others. My favorite pastime is being iconoclastic and trailblazing the depths of God's grace. I'm also senior pastor of Cornerstone Church in Wisconsin.
This entry was posted in Freedom, Identity and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Come out, come out, wherever you are…

  1. Amen!! For God has not given us a spirit of fear and timidity, but of power, love, and self-discipline. (2 Tim 1:7)

    Happy Birthday and may the Lord bless you with more insights, more revelations and more displays of His grace and power!

    ..and yes, you made me pull out my calculator to figure out your age 🙂

  2. Happy Birthday, Mel. May your light continue to shine brightly! (BTW, you’re still younger than I am – a spring chicken, as my grandmother used to say!)

  3. Kathleen says:

    Thanks Mel and Happy Birthday! As I started reading this I was patting myself on the back- “Good for you, you’re past all this…. ” But then the Holy Spirit gave me that look about half way through and I realized that I am just a little munchkin so often cowering in the tall grass.Thanks for reminding me of my freedom to dance in everything!… I think I’ll hang out with the lollypop guild today in celebration of your birthday 🙂

    • Mel Wild says:

      Thanks. We’re all coming out of the tall grass in some way as we’re starting to believe what Jesus actually accomplished on the Cross–not only for us but in us and as us.

      And, yup, the lollypop guild is cool, but they were a little scary to me when I was a “little bunny.” 🙂

    • Kathleen says:

      If the lollypop guild scared you I can’t imagine your response to the witch! I remember running from the room whenever she appeared. My kids, though, thought she was hilarious… what has become of this generation?

    • Mel Wild says:

      Yeah, Lollypop guys just had such a weird look on their faces to me when I was a little kid. But you’re right, this generation has seen far worse in the media. The Wizard of Oz is pretty tame. Ironically, what’s often scary to kids today are clowns. Go figure!

  4. Michael says:

    Amen! Happy Birthday, ol-(young) man! I pray that the coming year will be your greatest so far…really I’m going to pray that for you! And as we do for soldiers and athletes, let me take a moment to appreciate you as God’s soldier. I think of you sometimes on Saturday evenings and Sunday mornings and say, “Well Mel is preparing for tomorrow” or “Mel’s preaching now.” I pray for you and thank God for you, his messenger. Keep loving people and leading them to Jesus. I pray that God will return the strength to you that you give to others. Bless you!

  5. Ayanda says:

    Happy birthday Mel, I haven’t calculated your age yet, busy reading “The Shack” and I’m still at the raw part. I love the message, today was a bit of an interesting day for me and your words always find a way of calming the waters some. Yes the “witch is dead” and in the process of my mind being renewed I find myself sometimes challenged to burrow my self back in a hole of uncertainty and powerlessness however now what I find is that the more the rabbits get loose the more powerless the temptation gets for me to get snowed under. Yes the witch is dead but even more important ( me singing) Christ is alive, I am alive in Him. So Mel enjoy the rest of the day with Papa, I’m pretty sure He’s going to spoil you silly. 🙂

    • Mel Wild says:

      Thanks. Much appreciated. Yes, I think I already got spoiled silly in my time with Papa God this morning. Hence, my whimsical ponderings here. After all, I am His favorite! Of course, so are you! 🙂
      The Shack is an awesome book. Keep reading. It keeps getting better and better. William P. Young was greatly influenced by one of my favorite modern theologians, C. Baxter Kruger. In fact, Kruger wrote a book, “The Shack Revisited.” That would be a good follow-up for you. Be blessed.

  6. Lisa says:

    Happy birthday, Mel. You’re a great encourager and a wonderful voice of grace. 🙂

  7. N. says:

    Cute cute cute!! Happy birthday!!

  8. Cindy Powell says:

    Ha, ha — love it!! Happy (belated) Birthday!! Hope you enjoyed it in “the crazy bright light of His resurrected glory!”

  9. Happy (belated) birthday. I couldn’t do days. That would be freaky, so instead I do anniversaries. This year will be the 26th anniversary of my 29th birthday. I’d definitely rather be “26” than “21,170!”

    May this be a wonder-full year for you, one of an abundance of fruit!

    \o/

Leave a Reply

