The dance for Paul

I thought I would give you a follow-up to my post “An Invitation to the Dance.” You can read that post if you like to get the background on this adventure. I’ve also included a video clip from the Benefit for Paul’s family for your amusement. 🙂

The memorial service was absolutely packed. People were literally sitting, and standing, in every available space in that funeral home. There were well over 200 people. What was astounding for me was that just about everyone there was someone I knew from my old life.

How would you like to be given the opportunity to share God’s love with everyone you used to know before you came to Christ–all at one time! It was awesome. I got to tell them about the “Dance” that they have been invited to by God all at one time!

I told them that, like with their friend Paul who accepted the invitation, the Father had invited them to this Divine Dance–that it’s not about religion, what you do or don’t do, but about Jesus. And that God’s not mad at them–actually, He loves them and wants to be with them now and forever.

Their response was also amazing. First, I had several old friends tell me they wanted me to do their funeral! LOL! (I guess I’m getting to that age.) Secondly, they wanted to know more about this God who isn’t the one they learned about in their religious upbringing. Or, as Paul’s friend said, the “forced march” of religion.

Then there was the benefit for Paul’s family Saturday afternoon and evening.

Because of family relationships with some of the members of my old band and the connection to Paul, it turned out that all of us could play for the benefit (We all live in different areas now). We used to play in in the late 70’s and were popular in our area. We hadn’t played a note together in almost 15 years (and that was for a benefit too). The place was absolutely packed, it was a lot of fun. We mostly jammed and smiled. The people loved it and Paul’s wife benefited. It was all good.

What was funny is how many people came up to me that night, practically confessing all their sins, telling me how they want to get serious with God. Some wanted to check out our church (who are still in the area). I enjoyed sharing the outrageous love of God with them and encouraging them to accept God’s invitation.

Beloved, I don’t think we fully realize the atmosphere of heaven we carry wherever we go. It doesn’t matter how dark the place, we are the light of the world! These people are ALL dearly loved by God and are just one love encounter away with Him. These are the kind of places where Jesus liked to hang out. It’s so much fun to be able to share His love wherever we may go.

Okay, the video clip. Apparently, someone I don’t know put a few songs on YouTube. (I’m the old left-handed guitar player on the right!) We played what we could remember from our songs from ’70’s. Hope you enjoy it. We did. 🙂

About Mel Wild

God's favorite (and so are you), a son and a father, happily married to the same beautiful woman for 36 years. We have three incredible adult children. My passion is pursuing the Father's heart in Christ and giving it away to others. My favorite pastime is being iconoclastic and trailblazing the depths of God's grace. I'm also senior pastor of Cornerstone Church in Wisconsin.
This entry was posted in Father Heart of God, Freedom, Grace and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The dance for Paul

  1. Lisa says:

    Nothing gets me more excited than ushering in God-encounters for hungry people who don’t even have the sense to hope for them. 🙂

    • Mel Wild says:

      Same here. I love letting Jesus be Himself through me wherever He leads me in situations like this. then getting to see people who don’t know Him through His eyes. What a blessing. And it’s always an adventure.

Leave a Reply

