New Year’s resolution–awaken love

res·o·lu·tion —  /ˌrezəˈlo͞oSHən/ — 1. a firm decision to do or not to do something. 2. the action of solving a problem, dispute, or contentious matter.

I am resolved. I am committed.

But this resolution was not mine…originally. It was His.

Still, my heart can do nothing else.

You see, He is relentlessly, passionately, tenaciously, tirelessly, resolutely determined about this one thing–to awaken love.

This my heart knows.

“I slept, but my heart was awake,
when I heard my lover knocking and calling:
“Open to me, my treasure, my darling,
my dove, my perfect one…” (Song 5:2 NLT)

But still, my soul contends. My mind resists what my heart must have.  This contradiction, this conflict, this conundrum must be resolved or I will explode!

For He ever beckons me, haunts me , surrounds me…with His unshakable, unending and unfathomable love.

I hear Him reverberating in the deepest part of my soul…COME AWAKE!

What can I do? Where else can I go?

And why, O my soul, would I ever want anything more than this?

So I will resolve to respond…

To be loved.

To love.

I will open my heart. I will be more vulnerable, more intentional, more…His.

Finally…joyfully…my heart and my will resolves and resonates on this one thing…come awaken love!

“Come Awaken Love”
Written by Hunter Thompson
© 2013 Bethel Music Publishing (ASCAP). All Rights Reserved. Used by Permission.

About Mel Wild

God's favorite (and so are you), a son and a father, happily married to the same beautiful woman for 37 years. We have three incredible adult children. My passion is pursuing the Father's heart in Christ and giving it away to others. My favorite pastime is being iconoclastic and trailblazing the depths of God's grace. I'm also senior pastor of Cornerstone Church in Wisconsin.
This entry was posted in Love, Worship and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to New Year’s resolution–awaken love

  1. …and the greatest of these is love. Happy new year, Mel.

  2. naggie007 says:

    WOW!! That is incredible … I am ready to be woken … By Love 😊

  3. Cindy Powell says:

    LOVE this! Best resolution ever–and the only one ever needed.. Think I will reblog in a few days on the Deeper Waters site if okay with you. May the new year find your heart more awake to His love than ever before! (PS, love that song too 🙂 )

    • Mel Wild says:

      Amen, it’s the best! And the easiest since it’s HIS idea! He keeps us if we will but respond to His overture. And yes, please do share this. Much appreciated. May you also have a deeper, overflowing year in His love embrace.

  4. Cindy Powell says:

    Reblogged this on Deeper Waters and commented:
    I discovered Mel’s blog several months back and it is one of my favorites. Not only is he an excellent teacher who brings much clarity into areas where there has been a lot of misperception, but even more I love his contagious passion for God Himself. Indeed Lord–come awaken love!

Leave a Reply

