Godspelled

Godspell_2013

Godspell cast – PDC High School

“Not bad for a bunch of atheists.” That was the tongue-in-cheek response I got from one of the youth from our church last Saturday night in the high school parking lot after a performance of Godspell when I had asked him what he thought of it.

I smiled. As Paul would say, “Whether in pretense or truth, the gospel is preached.” (Phil.1:18).

Actually, I don’t believe in atheists.  I never have. And neither does God (Rom.1:18-21).  I don’t think there’s any real proof of atheism. It would take a very steep blind leap of faith for me to believe. It’s a God-denying delusion.

And God certainly believes in these young people with all of His heart, even if they don’t believe in him…yet.

As I said in my first report (“Away for a Godspell”), I had been asked to play guitar for this musical production by the High School Band Director. It’s been an honor to be part this brief adventure.

And these high school students were wonderful. They were stretched and challenged, stepping into their roles with passion and surprising authenticity, considering their youth and inexperience.

Besides the rehearsals, we did nine public performances to hundreds of people in all shapes and sizes over the last two weeks, from grade schoolers to grandmas and grandpas. The audiences love it.

I’ve gotten to know some of these amazing young people, and I know that some already do believe in God, others have never even heard these gospel stories before doing this musical. And through the process, I saw their hearts open to this greatest story ever told, and toward each other, as they experienced a taste of Christian community on the stage.

The emotions ran so high on the last night that we had to start several minutes late. Partly because the last musical production for the seniors would soon be over, perhaps part of it was God. I can only hope and pray for the latter. But, either way, I’m sure this has brought them a little closer to the heart of God. It’s hard to speak and hear the words of Jesus, night after night, and not be affected.

I really appreciate those of you who prayed for us all during this production and look forward to lasting fruit that remains in these young people. I have such a love in my heart for them, and I will be praying for them and cheering them on.

And I know that our Papa God is smiling over them. He loves them more than I could ever comprehend. He chose them for this particular encounter with Him at this particular time in their lives. And no matter how they respond to His overtures of love, they will never be the same again.

So, may this brush with Love leave an indelible imprint of His heart on their hearts, not only so that they could know the absolute joy and fulfillment of knowing Him, and know their value to Him, but also come to know their God-appointed purpose and destiny as they enter into a critically important time in their lives and their future. Because what God has in mind for all of them is stunning, it’s amazing, it’s full of Him.

Where are you going?
 Where are you going?
 Can you take me with you?
 For my hand is cold
 And needs warmth
 Where are you going?
 Far beyond where the horizon lies

Meet your new road!

Then I’ll take your hand
Finally glad
That I am here
By your side

(From “By My Side” Godspell)

Blessings,
Mel

About Mel Wild

God's favorite (and so are you), a son and a father, happily married to the same beautiful woman for 36 years. We have three incredible adult children. My passion is pursuing the Father's heart in Christ and giving it away to others. My favorite pastime is being iconoclastic and trailblazing the depths of God's grace. I'm also senior pastor of Cornerstone Church in Wisconsin.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Godspelled

  1. I love the various ways in which Jesus invites people to get to know Him. He’s so fun and creative. Hmm. Maybe I should take note! 😉

    I’m glad the production was a success. Can’t wait until we’re shown later just how successful it was, and who joined the family as a result.

    \o/

    • melwild says:

      Amen. Me too. I heard from someone today that the atmosphere was thick with the presence of God when he was in the audience at our last showing. He could tell that some of the students were moved by what they were saying. I’ve had others say how blown away they were by what came from these kids in such a secular setting.

      Which makes me laugh whenever I think about how the government has tried to keep God out of public schools. Ha! Like that’s gonna work! 🙂 We’ve seen so many miracles inside this high school over the last few years–physical healings from injuries after sporting events, spiritual breakthroughs–it’s just crazy to think He’s not there.

  2. marklhen says:

    Way to go, good sir. Very proud of you.

  3. Cindy Powell says:

    “So, may this brush with Love leave an indelible imprint of His heart on their hearts …” Definitely adding my “amen” to your beautiful declaration over the lives of these kids (and all who were touched). God is so amazing to give us such wonderful invitations to partner with Him.Thanks for sharing the good report 🙂 Blessings!

    • melwild says:

      Yes and amen! I have been so blessed to be part of this. And I just heard today that some of these kids will be singing a couple of these songs at our community Thanksgiving ecumenical service next Wednesday evening. And they’ve asked me to accompany again. I will be there with bells on! Another chance for His indelible imprints…God is SO good… 🙂

    • Cindy Powell says:

      Awesome!!!

  4. Michael says:

    Wonderful. I’ve been praying and thinking about it.

Leave a Reply

