Is God the Author of Sin?

This is a post from a fairly new blog I discovered and, despite its controversial title, has some important things to say about our assumptions in theology and the nature of God.

And this is why I’m re-blogging this particular post, because I think Jeff is hitting on something crucial to our understanding about the nature of God, what it means for Him to be sovereign, and the nature of sin and evil.

This is where I think Calvinism has missed it and caused a lot of unnecessary confusion, also causing many to have a wrong view of God and His sovereignty, even blaming and getting mad at Him for all the bad things in the world.

Please check it out and consider with an open heart and mind. 🙂

Why Calvinism is Wrong

“Although, therefore, I thus affirm that God did ordain the Fall of Adam, I so assert it as by no means to concede that God was therein properly and really the author of that Fall…But how it was that God, by His foreknowledge and decree, ordained what should take place in Adam, and yet so ordained it without His being Himself in the least a participator of the fault, or being at all the author or the approver of the transgression; how this was, I repeat, is a secret manifestly far too deep to be penetrated by any stretch of human intellect. Herein, therefore, I am not ashamed to confess my utter ignorance.” A Treatise of the Eternal Predestination of God, 126 (by Jean Calvin)

Okay, let me explain the above quote – it’s a little hard to understand. Calvin states, unequivocally, that God ordained the Fall of Adam, but was not…

View original post 967 more words

About Mel Wild

God's favorite (and so are you), a son and a father, happily married to the same beautiful woman for 36 years. We have three incredible adult children. My passion is pursuing the Father's heart in Christ and giving it away to others. My favorite pastime is being iconoclastic and trailblazing the depths of God's grace. I'm also senior pastor of Cornerstone Church in Wisconsin.
This entry was posted in Theology and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Is God the Author of Sin?

  1. Michael says:

    This is a good article. The absurdity of some Calvinist tenets is amazing. Thanks for directing me there!

    • melwild says:

      Yes, even though I really like John Piper and other Calvinists, this is where their doctrine gets absurd. If God is the author of sin then He cannot be good. There is no other coherent answer. And then He must be blamed for the bad things that happen on the earth. I think this one belief has done more to turn people away from God than any other.

      Thanks for your comments. 🙂

      • Michael says:

        The new philosophy club held its debut meeting at the ORU campus and discussed the origin of evil. (Why that I don’t know.) I recall leaving on the verge of madness at folk claiming that God created evil since they couldn’t come up with a logical explanation for it. I couldn’t believe those folk who worshiped and read their Bibles speaking such nonsense. I understood what it felt like at some of the early ecumenical councils when the men would fight!

        I was just thinking today that I don’t want to leave a bad legacy for Christ in the earth. I would hate to teach something so sincerely but be completely wrong about it. There is much grace to accept for this, even the things I post. I try to get it correct and would trust that folk might call me on something that’s far out. And that’s why I do my best to understand the scriptures correctly.

        Be blessed tomorrow, Mel, as you are used of the Lord.

        • melwild says:

          Thanks Michael. You’re right, it’s a convoluted mess when you try to make God the micro-manager of everybody’s actions. But it’s quite simple when you shed this Augustinian view of sovereignty, which the Reformers embraced and where the Calvinist view comes from. That’s a long story, but God, in His sovereignty, made room for his creation to freely respond to Him and make their own choices. This is because God is free, and a love relationship requires two free beings, able to freely choose. Otherwise, it’s not love but robotic manipulation and control, or something worse. No! God honors us so much that He gave us free will. We’re not puppets, we’re the crown of His creation!

          Imagine if you or I went around picking one person and condemning another before they breathed a single breath. What would you call that? Or, if you only loved me because I made you love me. It’s just awful and cruel! It’s just bizarre that we can say that about God in one breath, then call Him “good” in another!

          If this view of sovereignty is true, then atheists and others have every right to be mad at God and call Him unjust. After all, HE made them that way! There’s so many really bad things about this, and bad doctrines that have spun off of this, but too much to write about here. I’m just glad that God actually is GOOD! 🙂

      • Michael says:

        I can’t get over Piper affirming that God has chosen each of our sins so that he can demonstrate his atonement for it.

        • melwild says:

          He’s only reaffirming what Calvin and others, like Jonathan Edwards, have said before him. And if you say something long enough, no matter how untrue, it becomes orthodoxy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

