Quotes: Robert Farrar Capon

capon“Christianity is not a religion; it is the announcement of the end of religion.”

“I think good preachers should be like bad kids. They ought to be naughty enough to tiptoe up on dozing congregations, steal their bottles of religion pills…and flush them all down the drain.” (My personal favorite!)

“The Reformation was a time when men went blind, staggering drunk because they had discovered, in the dusty basement of late medievalism, a whole cellar full of fifteen-hundred-year-old, two-hundred proof Grace–bottle after bottle of pure distillate of Scripture…”

These quotes come from a recent post from an old friend of mine, Ben Kilen (Kilen’s Spot), on Robert Farrar Capon. I never heard of him before, but I love him already! A kindred iconoclast. 🙂 Sad to hear that He recently went to be with the Lord.

Read the whole article on Ben’s blog here. It’s well worth the read…
Robert Farrar Capon (1925-2013) (benkilen.wordpress.com)

About Mel Wild

God's favorite (and so are you), a son and a father, happily married to the same beautiful woman for 36 years. We have three incredible adult children. My passion is pursuing the Father's heart in Christ and giving it away to others. My favorite pastime is being iconoclastic and trailblazing the depths of God's grace. I'm also senior pastor of Cornerstone Church in Wisconsin.
This entry was posted in Grace, Quotes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Quotes: Robert Farrar Capon

  1. Holly says:

    Those are some great quotes– I never heard of that man before but he sure was wise!

    • melwild says:

      I hadn’t either before I saw them on Ben’s blog. Yes, he was wise…and radical! That’s why I like him so much. 🙂 And I love the way he describes discovering the richness of true grace. It is intoxicating! Thanks for you comments.

      • Holly says:

        You aren’t kidding when you say “radical”. Listened to some of his teaching on YouTube this morning. Very easy to listen to (he’s got a humor about him), but definitely rocked my boat a bit. 🙂

  2. Scott Sholar says:

    These were great quotes.

  3. Your personal favorite is also mine. I’m going to have to look this fellow up. Sounds like my kind of author! 🙂

    \o/

  4. Chris Jordan says:

    The quote, “The Reformation was a time…” was one I first read in Brennan Manning’s book “The Ragamuffin Gospel.” Great quotes all around!

    • melwild says:

      I love Brennan Manning too. I heard him at a church one time and had to read his books! He was a big influence in the early stages of my own personal reformation.

      • Chris Jordan says:

        Brennan Manning is one of my favourites for sure… The Ragamuffin Gospel was – next to the Bible – probably the most transformation book in my spiritual reading back in the early days as the Lord brought me out of a very legalistic, man-centered Word-faith type church and into one that emphasized more the Gospel, grace and love of Jesus…

        • melwild says:

          Amen! Me too. I actually got see Brennan Manning twice. I got to meet him and talk to him the second time. He is an amazing man and his preaching is spellbinding. The second time, he quoted large parts of the “Man of La Mancha” (Don Quixote) from memory, using that to show how we’re Dulcinea to Abba Father, revealing our true identity as His beloved. It was awesome.

  5. Wow, those quotes are amazing! Thank you for sharing them! 🙂

  6. Pingback: Cheap grace…what??? | In My Father's House

  7. Pingback: What does real freedom look like? | In My Father's House

Leave a Reply

