Dealing with my own distortions…

Distorted_Mel2In my last post (“Dealing with our distortions of God”), I attempted to lay a foundation about our distorted view of God and how that effects our relationship with Him and how we see ourselves and others. Now, I would like to  share what I have discovered over the years about my own personal distortions. I will also confess here that I didn’t realize that most of these were distortions before this discovery. Like you, I thought they were normal. I didn’t know what I didn’t know…Okay, here’s a few to start with…

My distortions about God:

  • I thought that God was still angry at sinners…
  • I thought Jesus was the merciful, graceful, loving, approachable friend who had to hold back a distant, too lofty, angry, wrathful Father from striking us all down because He couldn’t stand to look at us without His “Jesus glasses” on…
  • I thought God was good but…
  • I thought God’s will was always done instead of rarely done…
  • I thought even very evil and wicked things came from some higher purpose of God…
  • I thought God had something to do with all the bad things on the earth instead of all the good things…
  • I thought it was okay to blame God for bad things happening to good people, instead of the devil, our foolishness, and the fallen world we live in…
  • I thought doctrine was more important to God than relationship…
  • I thought God was still dealing with my sin…
  • I thought God graded me on my behavior instead of my faith…
  • I thought repentance came some other way than through the kindness of God…
  • I thought Jesus was the only way to heaven instead of the only way to the Father…
  • I thought disasters could be the judgment of God…
  • I thought God might be judging America…
  • I thought God was up there somewhere in heaven instead of living right inside of me…

My distortions about myself…

  • I thought I was a sinner saved by grace instead of a new creation in Christ…
  • I thought doing for Christ was more important than being in Christ…
  • I thought my salvation had something to do with making sure I confessed every one of my sins…
  • I thought I was saved by grace through faith, but now I was supposed to act like a Christian…
  • I thought my righteousness was somehow different than Jesus’ righteousness…
    I thought that spiritual maturity was based on what I didn’t do anymore instead of becoming more like Christ…
  • I thought that I had to live by the Ten Commandments, even though some weren’t as important as others…
  • I thought I was supposed to be managed by rules rather than the Holy Spirit…
  • I thought it was normal for a Christian to be more sin-conscious than God-conscious…
  • I thought it was normal to live life like a defeated victim instead of an overcomer in Christ…
  • I thought overcoming was trying harder next time…
  • I thought the only lasting freedom from sin was when I died instead of through my death and new life in Christ…
  • I thought my salvation was getting my sins forgiven so I could go to heaven when I died instead of having my sins forgiven so I could know God and enter into to the divine relational communion of love between the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit…
  • I thought there was a possibility that God could love me less than He loves Himself…
  • I thought John was being arrogant instead of declaring his identity when he said he was the disciple whom Jesus loved…
  • I thought my failures were a disappointment to God instead of an opportunity for greater revelation of who He wants to be for me in that area of my life…
  • I thought God might leave me and forsake me if I sinned too much…
  • I thought repentance was being really, really sorry instead of really, really agreeing with God…
  • I thought I had to crucify myself instead of considering myself already dead and now living Christ’s life…
  • I thought prayer was me doing all the talking…
  • I thought fervent prayer was me begging God more fervently instead of tenaciously believing Him…
  • I thought I wasn’t anointed enough…
  • I thought that the Holy Spirit living in me was somehow different than the One that lived in Christ and raised Him from the dead…
  • I thought it was okay for me to believe that faith was believing something reasonable, something limited to my understanding and the natural world around me…
  • I thought revival was the occasional and arbitrary visitation of God rather than living a lifestyle of habitation with God…
  • I thought miracles, signs, and wonders were an extreme version of Christianity instead of the biblical normal…
  • I thought the supernatural was for me to be wowed by phenomenal, intoxicating church meetings instead of for demonstrating His love in power to the wounded, orphaned world around me so that they can have hope and believe…
  • I thought I had to ask Jesus to please heal people instead of believing that He already answered that prayer on the whipping post 2,000 years ago…
  • I thought it was okay for me to change what God actually said in His Word into what He really must’ve meant whenever I didn’t get the results He said I would get…
  • I thought Job, Elijah and the Old Testament were my standard instead of Jesus…
  • I thought I wouldn’t be in heaven until I died…
  • I thought Jesus meant I was supposed to get a mansion in heaven when I died instead of a dwelling place in the Spirit now…
  • I thought I had to pray for an open heaven instead of believe I’m already in one…
  • I thought it was normal for me as a Christian to live from earth to heaven instead of from heaven to earth…
  • I thought I couldn’t know what God had prepared for me instead of letting the Holy Spirit search those things out for me…

My distortions about others…

  • I thought I was supposed to be the Holy Spirit for the church I pastor…
  • I thought there was the possibility that I could ever change a single person besides myself…
  • I thought others needed to agree with me if we were going to resolve conflict…
  • I thought my marriage would improve if my wife were different…
  • I thought I was supposed to judge sinners…
  • I thought it was okay to see other believers by what I see and according to how they treat me instead of who they are in Christ…
  • I thought that besides blessing or cursing with my mouth, there was just talking…
  • I thought it was okay to make some sins worse than others..
  • I thought being suspicious was the same thing as discernment…
  • I thought prophets were supposed to be angry and scary…
  • I thought personal prophecy was supposed to call people out on their sin…
  • I thought that being forceful was a better leadership quality than being thoughtful…
  • I thought it was okay to expect grace for myself but render judgment on anyone who offended me…
  • I thought the church was supposed to be preoccupied with what we’re against instead of what we’re for…
  • I thought I was supposed to see the world as going to hell in a hand basket instead of as a world the Father loves so much He gave what was most valuable to Him–Jesus…
  • I thought I was supposed to argue atheists, or anyone else for that matter, into the Kingdom…
  • I thought terrorists, religious or otherwise, political enemies and people who hated my country were enemies to God instead of precious people the Father dearly loves and who need an encounter with Him like I did…
  • I thought Republicans were saved and Democrats weren’t…
  • I thought Fox News was the news channel for the Kingdom of God…
  • I thought it was Christian’s duty in society to make everyone else behave…
  • I thought I had to tell people they were going to hell before they could hear the good news…
  • I thought it was okay to say that people engaged in certain sinful lifestyles couldn’t be Christians, while gossips, unforgiving, unloving, self-righteous and judgmental people could…

I thought God thought like I thought…

Hopefully, you see how messed up I was! And He’s definitely not done with me. Maybe He’s working on some of your distortions too? But don’t fret. I’ve found that God is really good at changing us and making us more like Him. 🙂

About Mel Wild

God's favorite (and so are you), a son and a father, happily married to the same beautiful woman for 37 years. We have three incredible adult children. My passion is pursuing the Father's heart in Christ and giving it away to others. My favorite pastime is being iconoclastic and trailblazing the depths of God's grace. I'm also senior pastor of Cornerstone Church in Wisconsin.
This entry was posted in Father Heart of God, Heaven on earth, Identity, The Shift and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Dealing with my own distortions…

  1. maureenwild@centurytel.net says:

    Good job! You could add … I thought worship was singing songs about how bad I was and how God needed to fix me instead of realizing He already did and live a lifestyle of deep fellowship with Him.

    I love you!
    Sent from my BlackBerry® wireless device from U.S. Cellular

  2. isaiah41v10 says:

    Reblogged this on Isaiah 41 v 10 and commented:
    I want to reblog this post because it is a powerful reminder of how mixed up our thoughts can be. I know God’s still working on me and transforming my thinking.

  3. lorlyn63 says:

    I think we are all “messed up” and we are all a work in progress. Thankfully He is never finished with us – He is always working to transform us and our lives to touch others around us! I enjoyed your writing – thank you for sharing that. I think we can all relate to what you said and have been there at one time or another! May God continue to bless your writing!

    • Mel Wild says:

      Thanks for your comments, much appreciated. Yes, we’re growing in His love and finding out there’s nothing to make us think we’re any better than anyone else. Now we’re free from judging but compelled by love to love others with the Father’s love in Christ. Blessings to you.

Leave a Reply

