Quotes: on sin and grace

just-a-sinner-600pxThought I would get slightly off-topic today and share a few quotes on sin and grace that appeal to my iconoclastic bent and cut to the heart of what I believe is wrong with the common understanding of this subject. I’ve also posted a graphic and link to an insightful article by Nancy Teague titled, “Are You Certain about God’s Forgiveness.”

“If we teach people that they are sinners saved by grace they will sin by faith.” Bill Johnson

“There are only two kinds of men: the righteous who think they are sinners and the sinners who think they are righteous.” Blaise Pascal

(NOTE: while this is an insightful observation by Pascal, there is a third type of person. A Christian who actually knows who they are in Christ!)

“If we’re not set free from sin until we die then Jesus isn’t our savior, death is.” Georgian Banov

The GOOD news is…you’re already dead and freed from sin!

“For he who has died has been freed from sin…14 For sin shall not have dominion over you, for you are not under law but under grace.” Paul the apostle (Rom.6:7)

“For you died, and your life is hidden with Christ in God.” Paul the apostle (Col.3:3)

“Jesus not only died for you, He died as you…stop trying to crucify yourself…you need to see the Cross of Jesus Christ, not as a system for committing suicide, but as a mass murder. When Christ died, we all died.” Dan McCallom

“I have been crucified with Christ; it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me.” Paul the apostle (Gal.2:20)

“It is impossible to sin out of who you are in God – every sin a believer commits comes from believing a lie”  Bill Johnson

“Whoever abides in Him does not sin…9 Whoever has been born of God does not sin, for His seed remains in him; and he cannot sin, because he has been born of God.”  John the apostle (1 Jn.3:6, 9)

About Mel Wild

God's favorite (and so are you), a son and a father, happily married to the same beautiful woman for 36 years. We have three incredible adult children. My passion is pursuing the Father's heart in Christ and giving it away to others. My favorite pastime is being iconoclastic and trailblazing the depths of God's grace. I'm also senior pastor of Cornerstone Church in Wisconsin.
This entry was posted in Grace, Identity, Quotes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Quotes: on sin and grace

  1. nancyteague says:

    Mel, thanks for referencing my post! I love the quotes you shared. Spot on! Oh to know who we really are in Him! What glories are ours.

    • melwild says:

      You’re welcome, Nancy. And thank you for your encouraging posts and helping us break free from the religious bondage we have believed for far too long. The truth truly makes us free! Blessings on your ministry and family.

  2. Tammy McCarthy says:

    Awesome quotes – so true!

  3. Ben Kilen says:

    Mel! Talk about blast from the past. ….

    Sounds like we may be traveling ona very similar journey. …

    How is the family?

    • melwild says:

      Hey Ben! I saw your re-post from Mark Hendrickson’s blog and Maureen and I thought it had to be the Ben Kilen we knew! We were remembering when you were just a wee lad. LOL! Mark and Debbie are good friends of ours. We’re doing awesome, been busy pastoring a local church and just started a ministry school this year. I’m also working on a book. Good to see you’re out there causing trouble for the kingdom. 🙂 Shoot me an email about what you’ve been up to when you get a chance.

  4. Anonymous says:

    My dear children, I write this to you so that you will not sin. But if anybody does sin, we have an advocate with the Father–Jesus Christ, the Righteous One. 1 John 2:1

Leave a Reply

