The Truth is a Person

“till we all come to the unity of the faith and of the knowledge of the Son of God, to a perfect man, to the measure of the stature of the fullness of Christ” (Eph.4:13)

Is the Truth an “it” or a “Who?”

In my last post (The Shift) I mentioned a prophetic word from 1982 predicting a major shift in the expression of Christianity within a generation. One of the expressions that has to change is how we divide ourselves by our doctrines. If one of the purposes of the equipping gifts (Eph.4:11) is to bring us into the “unity of the faith and the knowledge of the Son of God,” which it is, then maybe we ought to find out what that means. Truth is a Person (Jn.14:6), not necessarily your particular interpretation of Scripture. The Pharisees possessed the truth of Scripture but they did not possess the Truth.  Here’s a quote from the movie “Furious Love” where Jan Sjoerd Pasterkamp sums this up so well.

Jan Sjoerd Pasterkamp“And there was an interview with a Dutch church historian, and they asked him what did he see about the people of the Dutch church. And he made the most interesting remark. He said, “We have dozens of protestant denominations and Christian groups, because,” he said, “to the Dutch person, truth is more important than unity.” And when I heard it, I thought, “I have to write to say in a whole sermon what you said in one sentence,” because, what is truth?

What he meant by truth, and rightly analyzed, is my interpretation of the Bible, my dogmatic views, my doctrinal views. But Jesus said, “I am the truth.” Truth is not a teaching. Truth is a person, and if you have that person, you have the Truth. And in that person there is always unity. But if we put our understanding of the Scripture and our doctrinal views higher than the person of Jesus, (and I’m going to say maybe something very sharp, and I want to say it respectfully and honorably) we worship idols. Anything you place above the Lord Jesus, is an idol. Our unity is not in a teaching, it’s in a person. And in that person, we always find one another.”

About Mel Wild

God's favorite (and so are you), a son and a father, happily married to the same beautiful woman for 36 years. We have three incredible adult children. My passion is pursuing the Father's heart in Christ and giving it away to others. My favorite pastime is being iconoclastic and trailblazing the depths of God's grace. I'm also senior pastor of Cornerstone Church in Wisconsin.
This entry was posted in Doctrine, John 14-17, Quotes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Truth is a Person

  1. Pingback: What’s all this about the unity of the faith? | In My Father's House

  2. Pingback: When does “Bible believing” become idolatry? | In My Father's House

  3. paulfpavao says:

    Really important message: Truth is a Person. Well said.

  4. Pingback: The strange thing about strange fire | In My Father's House

  5. Pingback: The problem with keeping God in our intellectual box | In My Father's House

  6. Pingback: How do we know truth? | In My Father's House

  7. Spaniardviii says:

    Hello Mel, I did a post with the similar title as yours but in a question form, “Is the truth a person?” Your explanation substantiates the point I made in my post. I wrote my post yesterday and the funny thing was I stumble on your post today and I see it as a confirmation to what I wrote.

Leave a Reply

